Book to Movie Adaptations {a.k.a} Six Bookish Movies I’m Excited About

I love watching movies almost as much as I love reading; combine the two and I’m literally in heaven! More and more books are being adapted into films and these are the six I’m most excited for 

♡ All The Bright Places starring Elle Fanning.

All The Bright Places (Poster)

All The Bright Places is one of my favourite books of all time; I loved the story, the lyrical writing, the amazing characters and the excellent mental illness representation. The story follows Violet and Finch – two very different teenagers each with their own mental health struggles, together they go on an adventure trying to discover who they truly are. This is probably one of my most anticipated book to movie adaptations and I’m just so nervous that it won’t be perfect! 

♡ To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before starring John Corbett, Lana Condor & Janel Parrish.

To all the boys I've loved before

I only recently read To All The Boys Before and I absolutely loved it! The family dynamics were spot on, the romance swoon worthy and the food delicious. I was so excited when I heard that it’s becoming a movie; I absolutely adored this family and I can’t wait to see more of them, also I can’t wait to see Lara and Peter together on screen. Next year can’t come soon enough!

♡ Let It Snow.

Let It Snow

I’m a sucker for anything Christmassy and Let It Snow features three interconnecting holiday romance stories. I’m a complete sucker for movies where all the characters are somehow related and I think Let It Snow is going to be exactly like that. I haven’t yet read the book, but since it revolves around the joy’s of Christmas, I’m sure I’ll love it!

♡ The Hate U Give starring Amandla Steinberg, Regina Hall & Lamar Johnson.

THUG

Yet another book I haven’t read yet, but I know that it will be amazing and the movie excellent. Every single review I’ve read about this book has been so positive and everyone loves this book and the heartbreaking story it tells. I’m super excited for the movie – the cast is fantastic and I can’t wait to see Starr Carter on the big screen.

♡ Chaos Walking starring Mads Mikkelsen, Tom Holland & Daisy Ridley.

The Knife of Never Letting Go

The Chaos Walking trilogy is one of my favourites and I squealed out loud when I heard that it was becoming a movie. The premise for this series is amazing – it follows a boy named Todd where he lives in Prentisstown, there are no women in this town and the men all live in a state of constant Noise. Then Todd stumbles upon a girl named Viola and suddenly the Noise stops. I’m most excited about the casting of Mads Mikkelsen as Mayor Prentiss; he was amazing as Hannibal in the TV series and I think he’s an excellent villain. The only downside is that we have to wait two more years for this to make it onto the big screen.

♡ Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda starring Nick Robinson & Katherine Langford.

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

I recently read Albertalli’s second book The Upside of Unrequited and I loved it, but I have not yet read Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda but I know I’ll love it too. This automatically means that I’ll love the movie too, and how could I not when our main character loves Oreos. I’m super excited about the cast – I loved Nick Robinson in Everything, Everything and Katherine Langford was amazing in 13 Reasons Why. I’m definitely planning on reading the book really soon; definitely before going to see the movie.

 Are you excited about any of these movies?

 Are there other bookish movies you’re excited for that’s not on my list?

Mich

19 thoughts on “Book to Movie Adaptations {a.k.a} Six Bookish Movies I’m Excited About

  1. Fantastic list, Michelle! I am so excited for all of these movies to be released. I hope there will be tons of baked goods in that Lara Jean movie ahah. I can’t wait for Let it Snow as well, it sounds like the perfect, christmassy movie for sure. 🙂
    I haven’t read THUG just yet – I will soon – but I’m so happy it is getting turned into a movie so quickly.
    I unfortunately did not love The Knife of Never Letting Go too much – but I’m eager to see what it will be like on the big screen 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Marie 🌸
      I’m hoping to get to THUG soon too, but I’m also really happy they’re turning it into a movie. There better be lots of food in Lara Jean or I’ll be seriously disappointed 🙈

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I LOVE Let It Snow and I had no idea it was going to be a movie omg! I’m so excited about it now! I’ve heard of the adaptation for Simon vs… but I’m not very excited about the actor who’s playing Simon tbh. (I heard he’s great in Everything, Everything but I saw him as a secondary character in Jurassic World and I didn’t think much of him. I’m hoping that I’m wrong, though.)
    I really want to read The Hate You Give and The Knife Of Never Letting Go before the movies come out, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy you enjoyed Let It Snow, I really look forward to reading it before the movie comes out ❄️He was so amazing in Everything, Everything; I’m sure he’ll be perfect as Simon! The Knife of Never Letting Go is excellent, I’m sure you’ll love it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So many great book to movie adaptations to look forward to! 😄 but I am over the moon excited for The Hate U Give after reading & loving the book so much. Just seeing everyone they’ve cast alone has been exciting, can’t wait to see this story come to life on the big screen. I also LOVED Upside of Unrequited to pieces! but haven’t read Simon yet 😩will def be doing that before the movie 🤞🏼🤞🏼🤞🏼 great list! 💙

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great list! I’ve read all of them but the Chaos Walking trilogy which has been on my to-read for a long time. I am so looking forward to all the movie adaptations. Even if they aren’t great, at least us book readers get to be smug about all the ways the book was better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

