Bookish Things · Diversity Spotlight

Diversity Spotlight Thursday // LGBTQIA+ Representation

Diversity Spotlight Thursdays is a weekly feature in which I share a diverse book that I’ve read and enjoyed, a diverse book on my TBR and a diverse book that is releasing soon 

A book I've readYou know me well

♡ You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour & David Levithan // Elements of Diversity: Gay and Lesbian Representation.

You Know Me Well is one of those books that took me completely by surprise by how good it was. This story was wonderful and I had a great time reading it. The story takes place during Pride Week and features two amazing characters – Kate that is trying to figure out her budding relationship with Pixie Dream Girl and Mark who’s also trying to figure out his relationship. The characters were great and it is stuffed to the brim with diversity, it’s also an #ownvoice novel which makes it that much more exciting!

A book on my TBRHow to make a wish

♡ How To Make A Wish by Ashley Herring Blake // Elements of Diversity: Bisexual Representation.

How To Make A Wish first made it onto my radar because of numerous amazing reviews I read. It tells the story of two girls that have very different relationships with their mothers and how that affects their lives. Eva and Grace form an unbelievably close bond and support each other through everything. It sounds so amazing and I can’t wait for it to hit South African shores. If you would like to read a wonderful review about this amazing book you can check out Fadwa’s review here.

A book being released soon27 Hours

♡ 27 Hours by Tristina Wright // Elements of Diversity: LGBTQIA+ Representation including Pansexual and Asexual representation.

I’m not the biggest fan of the Sci-Fi genre but 27 Hours just looks too good to pass up. It sounds adventurous, exciting and exhilarating; not to mention the cast sounds absolutely amazing. Almost all of the characters are represented on the LGBTQIA+ spectrum which is so refreshing! I’m a sucker for adventure so I’m sure I’ll end up absolutely loving it. 27 Hours will be released 3 October 2017.

Leaf 1

 Have you read any of the books on my list & What did you think?

 Are any of these on your TBR?

Mich

7 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday // LGBTQIA+ Representation

  1. These all sound so AMAZING! I’m a fan of Nina Lacour and I haven’t read You Know Me Well just yet but it is on my more immediate TBR, glad to see you enjoyed it. I’ve heard of 27 Hours & i’m curious to see what it’s about since it has 2 of my faves Diversity & Sci-fi *whoop whoop* Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think David Levithan is a really good author for LGBTQI novels. I have read “Two Boys Kissing” (did a review :3 about it) and his discourse and the narration/narrators are just… amazing and it just wonderful! I have kept You Know Me Well in my list and I am so eager to read it!

    After all is David Levithan…

    Thanks for sharing! :3

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is the first and only book I’ve read by him so far, but I really enjoyed it and I’ve heard great things about his other books too so I’ll definitely try and read some of them sometime 😊

      Like

      1. Great decision! I will give it a try to this one too because of your review!

        Thank you very much! I must confess that the book I mentioned moved me so much…. :3 I hope you get to read any other of him :3

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

