Book Review

I Have No Secrets // An Eye Opening Read

 This is a spoiler free review.

I have no secrets

Synopsis (2)

Jemma knows who did the murder. She knows because he told her. And she can’t tell anyone. 

Fourteen-year-old Jemma has severe cerebral palsy. Unable to communicate or move, she relies on her family and carer for everything. She has a sharp brain and inquisitive nature, and knows all sorts of things about everyone. But when she is confronted with this terrible secret, she is utterly powerless to do anything. Though that might be about to change…

Heart Border

I Have No Secrets is an eye opening read with a brilliant protagonist. Jemma has Cerebral Palsy and as a result she is confined to her wheelchair with no movement and no ability to speak, but her mind is very much alive. People think Jemma doesn’t listen or can’t understand leading them to confess their secrets to her; someone even confesses to murder. But Jemma listens and she does understand, now she just has to find a way to speak.

Jemma really is a very intelligent girl with an intelligent mind. I thought her character was brilliant and it was really eye opening reading the story from her point of view. She has the same hopes and dreams as other teenagers her age, but what she wants most in life is to be able to communicate and share her thoughts with her family. Jemma lives with her foster family and her two foster siblings Finn and Olivia. I absolutely adored Jemma’s foster parents as well as her carer, Sarah. They were so caring and loving and they just wanted the absolute best for her and her siblings. I loved that the family was focused on fostering children with mental health problems, not only do they provide excellent care for Jemma but they also look after Finn that has Autism.

I was also very intrigued by the sniffing technology that’s introduced later on the book, it was so fascinating! Although I totally loved Jemma and her family I wouldn’t describe the book as a thriller. The story was interesting enough and I totally wanted to get to the bottom of things, I wanted to know who the murdered was and I wanted a conclusion. It definitely reminded me of a crime drama but certainly not as gruesome. I really think this is a book that should be read by all. It definitely helped me better understand Cerebral Palsy and the limitations and challenges that come with it.

3 Star

Mich

 I kindly received a copy from Penguin Randomhouse SA for review, this has in no way affected my opinion. 

3 thoughts on “I Have No Secrets // An Eye Opening Read

Leave a Reply

