Bookish Things · Diversity Spotlight

Diversity Spotlight Thursday // Love Stories & Depression

Diversity Spotlight Thursdays is a weekly feature in which I share a diverse book that I’ve read and enjoyed, a diverse book on my TBR and a diverse book that is releasing soon 

A book I've readAll the bright places

♡ All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven // Elements of Diversity: Depression and Bipolar Disorder.

All The Bright Places is one my all time favourite novels; I absolutely fell in love with Niven’s writing style, but I fell even more in love with the characters she created. Her characters are real and raw and her take on the characters mental illnesses are amazing. The depression and bipolar representation is amazing and the best part is that love doesn’t cure everything in this one. Also be on the look out for the movie releasing in 2018.

A book on my TBRGirl in Pieces (2)

 Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow // Elements of Diversity: Depression.

Girl In Pieces has been on my radar ever since I’ve heard about it and I hesitantly added it to my TBR. I’m so interested in this story as I’ve heard that the writing is raw and real and honest, but I’m also a bit wary because of the contents of this novel. Girl In Pieces focuses heavily on self-harm and depression which is somewhat of a trigger point for me, I’m really hoping to pick it up soon though.

A book being released soonBoth die in the end

 They Both Die In The End by Adam Silvera // Elements of Diversity: LGBTQ+ characters.

I have not yet read anything by Silvera yet – yes I know I’m totally missing out – so I’m really excited to read They Both Die At The End. The concept of this sounds amazingly cool in a morbid kind of way, but I’m still extremely excited to go on this journey with our two main characters Mateo and Rufus. The story features LGBT characters and judging by what I’ve heard about Silvera’s previous books the LGBT representation is always on point. They Both Die At The End will be released September 2017.

Leaf 1

 Have you read any of the books on my list & What did you think?

 Are any of these on your TBR?

Mich

13 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday // Love Stories & Depression

  1. ATBP, just thinking about it makes me want to cry. I feel like I have been reading tons of books with anxiety and depression lately, which is good for me, since those are my things. I just finished The Art of Feeling by Laura Tims, and I adored it (grief, depression). I also really liked How to Disappear by Sharon Huss Roat (anxiety).

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ohh great choices here, Michelle ❤ I read and really enjoyed All The Bright Places, glad to hear you did too 🙂 Did you read Niven's other book, Holding Up The Universe? 🙂
    I have only read More Happy Than Not by Silvera and it was really, really good -and heartbreaking as well, I feel like it's his thing, heartbreaking books ahah. I can't wait to read They Both Die At The End! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much 💕
      I did read Holding Up The Universe; but I wasn’t as fond of it. The story was a bit off for me (I loved the diversity though) and I really would’ve liked for Libby and Jack to just remain friends 😊 What did you think of Holding Up The Universe?
      I’ve heard all his books are heartbreaking, but I’m excited to read all of them 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

