Diversity Spotlight Thursday | An Exciting Mix

Diversity Spotlight Thursdays is a weekly feature in which I share a diverse book that I’ve read and enjoyed, a diverse book on my TBR and a diverse book that is releasing soon 

 A Book I’ve Read.

A Tragic Kind of Wonderful

 A Tragic Kind Of Wonderful by Eric Lindstrom || Elements of Diversity:  Bi-Polar Disorder & LGBTQ+ characters.

I’ve only recently finished A Tragic Kind Of Wonderful and like the name suggest it was tragically wonderful. I loved how good the mental health representation was in this book and I absolutely adored the fact that our main character actually saw a psychiatrist and took medication for her a condition. I’d definitely recommend checking this one out and you can read my full review here.

 A Book On My TBR.

Simon Vs.

 Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli || Elements of Diversity: LGBTQI+ characters.

After recently finishing The Upside of Unrequited, Albertalli’s new work of fiction, I immediately had to move Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda up on my TBR. I absolutely fell in love with Albertalli’s writing style and this is why I’m so excited to read this, add LGBTQ+ characters and I’m totally sold. I can really not wait to read this.

 A Book That Is Being Released Soon.

Flame in The Mist

 Flame In The Mist by Renee Ahdieh || Elements of Diversity: Asian Main Characters.

I’m very excited to read Flame In The Mist ever since I heard it was a Mulan retelling which will most definitely feature an Asian main character. I think it will most definitely also feature a strong female lead judging from the original Mulan story and some political intrigue so I’m definitely intrigued. Flame In The Mist will be released 16 May 2017.

Have you read any of these books and what was your experience? Are any of these on your own personal TBR? Let me know in the comments!

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

 Diversity Spotlight Thursdays are created by Aimal from Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Be sure to check out her post for more information. 

11 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday | An Exciting Mix

  1. I hope you’ll love Simon! I have read it and really enjoyed it, Simon’s voice is unique and oh so real. Also, Flame in the Mist is one of my most anticipated releases, I can’t WAIT to read it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

