Great Mental Health Representation| A Tragic Kind Of Wonderful

 This is a spoiler-free review.

A Tragic Kind of Wonderful

 Book Title: A Tragic Kind Of Wonderful.

 Author: Eric Lindstrom.

 Series: Standalone.

 Page Count: 346 Pages (Paperback).

 Genre: Young Adult Contemporary & Mental Health.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟

 I kindly received a copy from Jonathan Ball Publishers for review, this has in no way affected my opinion.

Synopsis

For sixteen-year-old Mel Hannigan, bipolar disorder makes life unpredictable. Her latest struggle is balancing her growing feelings in a new relationship with her instinct to keep everyone at arm’s length. And when a former friend confronts Mel with the truth about the way their relationship ended, deeply buried secrets threaten to come out and upend her shaky equilibrium.

As the walls of Mel’s compartmentalized world crumble, she fears the worst—that her friends will abandon her if they learn the truth about what she’s been hiding. Can Mel bring herself to risk everything to find out?


 thoughts-2A Tragic Kind Of Wonderful is one of those novels I wanted to read ever since learning of its existence. I’m a complete sucker for books that focuses on mental health and I’m even more of a sucker when the mental health representation is done well, so it would come as no so surprise that I thoroughly enjoyed this book!

A Tragic Kind Of Wonderful was an intense, but yet fun contemporary that combines loads of things that I love together in one book. Mel is our main character and she’s also been diagnosed with bi-polar disorder. I really liked Mel, she felt like such a strong character to me due to the fact that she has survived so much and that she’s still fighting every single day. I felt like the bi-polar representation was totally accurate and that’s always a big plus for me. I also liked that Mel was seeing a psychiatrist and that she was taking medication for her condition, although she didn’t always want to take them, she knew that they were good for her and her condition.  Not a lot of emphasis is placed on treatments and medicine when it comes to mental health in YA, so I think this was a really important addition.

Happiness, he said, was like the lights in your house, running on electricity generated by the good things in life.

The friendship dynamics in this was a little bit messed up and totally complicated, but in the end it was still so, so good and supportive! Mel had some friends that she lost but that came back to her in the end, so in the beginning they were really shitty friends, but in the end they supported her and her condition fully. I was definitely a fan of the romance, I really liked David right from the start and I thought he was a real cutie pie. What’s even better was the fact that he liked Mel despite everything and what made this romance the best was the fact that it didn’t all of a sudden cure Mel from her bi-polar disorder.

A few other things that I really enjoyed were the addition of LGBTQ+ character along with other diverse character. I also really liked that Mel’s mom and aunt were constants in her life, always there for her through everything. Although I totally adored this and I thought the bi-polar representation was spot on, it felt a little underwhelming in places making my reading experience a little bit less enjoyable. There was just some things that fell flat for me and things that were left unanswered, never the less I still enjoyed it. 

like-this

All The Bright Places

If you’re looking for a book with positive mental health representation and a cute romance expertly woven into the plot then this is the book for you!

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

9 thoughts on “Great Mental Health Representation| A Tragic Kind Of Wonderful

  1. I really enjoyed this book! I loved all the friendships even though they were messy and complicated. Mel is really an amazing character and I loved the positive rep and the inclusion of Mels medication and therapy. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved the author’s first book so I knew this would be a must for me! And this review has only made me certain that I have to read these ahah. Mental health rep is SO important and I’m glad to hear that it was portrayed nicely in this book!! And that the romance didn’t ‘cure’ the main character of her disorder ahah. Lovely review!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Analee 💕
      I haven’t read the authors first book yet, but I really want to after reading this. I really love good mental health representation in books, it makes a book so much better if it’s done right!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad you ended up enjoying this one overall, Michelle! And I’m also glad to hear that the mental health rep was good. I’ve heard a lot of great things about this author’s books and definitely need to read both soon. Though it does suck that there were some things that fell flat for you. Either way, great review as always!! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Melissa 💕
      I really want to read the author’s first book after reading this one. I really love good mental health representation, it really makes book so much better!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

