Totally Squeal-Worthy | The Upside of Unrequited

 This is a spoiler-free review.

upside-of-unrequited

♡ Book Title: The Upside of Unrequited.

 Author: Becky Albertalli.

 Series: Standalone.

 Page Count: 352 Pages (Kindle Edition).

 Genre: Young Adult Contemporary, LGBTQI+

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟.5

 I kindly received a copy from Penguin Random House UK on Netgalley for review, this has in no way affected my opinion. 

SynopsisSeventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

Right?

 The Upside of Unrequited will be released 11 April 2017.


thoughts-2Where do I even start? The Upside of Unrequited was definitely squeal-worthy and all kinds of cute! Having not read Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda yet, I had no idea what to expect from Albertalli and her work; but I was pleasantly surprised and I loved this book a lot (like a lot, a lot).

This book oozed diversity from every single page and obviously I loved it! I’m sure this book had the most diverse family ever in YA – Molly & Cassie had two non-white, lesbian moms, they were also a Jewish family (which I have never before encountered in YA before). The moms were also really involved in the twins lives, they were really present and not at all absent and I really enjoyed that. I really loved that Molly & Cassie were twins, I love twins in books, they usually have such an amazing bond and it’s just great to read about.

I honestly think there are two kinds of quiet people. There’s the kind like me, who are secretly full of storms and spinning gears.

I absolutely loved all the characters in this book; they were all so diverse and unique and relatable. Molly is one of the twins and our main character. Molly sees herself as chubby, but she also accepts the way she looks and she’s not constantly trying to change that about herself. She also has anxiety; I really liked Molly and her character. I could definitely relate to her and the way she felt about her body and other things. Molly’s twins sister Casie was another big character in this novel. I had somewhat of  a love/hate relationship with Casie, on the one hand she was such a great sister by always sticking up for Molly, but then on the other hand she totally shut her out of her life when she got a girlfriend. I just thought that was so uncool and Molly definitely didn’t deserve it.

I’m on the toilet at the 9:30 Club and I’m wondering how mermaids pee.

There was tons of romance in this book and it was so adorable and swoon-worthy! Molly’s love interest Reid was a total sweetheart and I liked him from the very beginning. Cassie’s love interest Mina was just as cute and adorable. Mina was from Korean/America descent and a Pansexual (another thing that I have yet to come across in YA). Overall both relationships were great and totally needed to be a part of the story.

I was pleasantly surprised by how easy the writing was to get into and how it just seemed to effortlessly flow on the page, making it a super fun and fast reading experience for me. The plot was more of a coming of age story (for both our twins) with loads of character development and growth. The only thing that I felt that could’ve made the book even more enjoyable was dual POV; I felt like we were missing out on some things by only reading from Molly’s POV. I would’ve liked to explore Cassie and Mina’s relationship from Cassie’s POV as I’m a complete sucker for f/f relationships.

like-this

queens-of-geek

This book was totally amazing, I’m definitely recommending it to everyone!

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

13 thoughts on “Totally Squeal-Worthy | The Upside of Unrequited

    1. Thanks so much 💕
      I really want to read Simon, I really liked Albertalli’s reading style, it was so easy to get into so I really think that I want to read Simon. I’m also quite excited for the movie 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

