A Perfect Wrap-Up | Perfect

 This is a spoiler-free review, it may however spoil you for the previous book in the series.

perfect

 Book Title: Perfect.

 Author: Cecelia Ahern.

 Series: Flawed #2.

 Page Count: 352 Pages (Kindle Edition).

 Genre: Young Adult Dystopia.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟.5

 I kindly received a copy from Macmillan Children’s Publishing on Netgalley for review, this has in no way affected my opinion.

Synopsis

Celestine North lives in a society that demands perfection. After she was branded Flawed by a morality court, Celestine’s life has completely fractured–all her freedoms gone.

Since Judge Crevan has declared her the number one threat to the public, she has been a ghost, on the run with Carrick–the only person she can trust.

But Celestine has a secret–one that could bring the entire Flawed system crumbling to the ground. A secret that has already caused countless people to go missing.

Judge Crevan is gaining the upper hand, and time is running out for Celestine. With tensions building, Celestine must make a choice: save just herself or to risk her life to save all Flawed people.

And, most important of all, can she prove that to be human in itself is to be Flawed?

 Perfect was released 4 April 2017.


thoughts-2I’ve been patiently waiting for Perfect ever since I read the first book in the duology early last year. I desperately wanted to know how things will come together and wrap up in this finale. I’m pleased to say that I thoroughly enjoyed Perfect and I was happy with how things came together, but this duology is unfortunately just not one of my favourites.

Perfect picks up exactly where Flawed left off, with Celestine on the run from The Guild and Judge Crevan. I definitely enjoyed the plot of this book more, it felt more action-packed and rebellious to me. That being said I also felt that the book went on too long, it was almost like the plot went round and round in circles, constantly using the same bait and plan over and over again.

Baby steps are not effective when you’re living in a country that needs big leaps.

I enjoyed the world building and exploration in this book, the author talked a bit more about tradition and how The Flawed system and Guild came to be in existence. I was happy that this was included in the novel as these were all questions that were left unanswered in the first book.

Celestine was a better character than in Flawed; she was definitely more tolerable and she didn’t make as many selfish or bad decisions. She was an actual leader and a clever one at that, she had a plan and although she was still a bit stubborn at times she definitely took other’s feelings and consequences for her action into consideration this time. I loved Carrick, but I’ve loved him from book one and I’m so happy he got to play such a big role this time round. He had his flaws, but he’s such a great character with a good heart and sound advice – I definitely think that he’s my favourite of the entire duology.

There’s the person who you think you should be and there’s the person who you really are. I’ve lost sense of both. 

I really liked all the extra characters that were introduced this time round, soon they all become like a rebellion family and they were there for each other through everything. I also loved that Celestine’s family was such a prominent part of the story, they supported her no matter what and they stood by her side through everything – I really loved that as I think strong family dynamics are super important and this truly showed what unconditional love is.

Overall, I think it was an average dystopian duology. Sure it does bring forth a completely new society that has never been explored in a dystopian novel before, but the rest remains pretty much the same. Find a golden girl and start a revolution. I just think that Dystopia has overstayed its welcome.

like-this

Flawed divergent

I would recommend reading this if you were a fan of the first book in the duology – Flawed. Although I didn’t think this duology was anything spectacular, I would still love to see more YA books from Ahern.

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

 

One thought on “A Perfect Wrap-Up | Perfect

Leave a Reply

