Heartbreakingly Real | The Last Thing You Said

 This is a spoiler-free review.

The Last Thing You Said

 Book Title: The Last Thing You Said.

 Author: Sara Biren.

 Series: Standalone.

 Page Count: 320 Pages (Kindle Edition).

 Genre: Young Adult Contemporary & Romance.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

 I kindly received a copy from Amulet Books on Netgalley for review, this has in no way affected my opinion.

SynopsisLast summer, Lucy’s and Ben’s lives changed in an instant. One moment, they were shyly flirting on a lake raft, finally about to admit their feelings to each other after years of yearning. In the next, Trixie—Lucy’s best friend and Ben’s sister—was gone, her heart giving out during a routine swim. And just like that, the idyllic world they knew turned upside down, and the would-be couple drifted apart, swallowed up by their grief. Now it’s a year later in their small lake town, and as the anniversary of Trixie’s death looms, Lucy and Ben’s undeniable connection pulls them back together. They can’t change what happened the day they lost Trixie, but the summer might finally bring them closer to healing—and to each other.

 The Last Thing You Said will be released 4 April 2017.


thoughts-2

The Last Thing You Said totally took me by surprise! When I requested it I expected to enjoy it, but I wasn’t prepared for how much I actually loved it. This story was real and raw and it did have me wiping away a few tears during the reading process. I just honestly loved this book and what it taught me.

I loved the central theme of death that was present throughout the entire novel. Although the death itself wasn’t as main of a focus as I initially thought it would be, it was still present throughout the whole novel. It was present in the way that it affected both our main characters Lucy and Ben. It showed us how much these two characters had changed because of the death. I loved reading about how a death can change people, it was real and raw and I like that in contemporary novels.

God, I used to love her smile. The way it sort of creeps up on one side first, tentative, and then goes full out, lighting up her whole face.

There isn’t much to the plot – besides the fact that it made me extremely anxious to get to the bottom of it all – no, this was definitely more of a character driven novel and I really enjoyed the characters in this novel. Ben was by far my favourite character. I know loads of people will describe him as being an asshole, but he just lost his sister and he was having a hard time. I loved reading his narrative as I really felt sorry for him and I just wanted him to be whole again; I also think he most definitely underwent the most character development.

I also really liked Hannah, Lucy’s now best friend, she was so supportive and always there for Lucy – they had a great relationship and she embodied everything that a best friend should embody in a novel. I was very fond of the relationship between Lucy and Ben; it was so conflicting and I was so frustrated with them, but it was such a great build up and I loved it.

I wasn’t as fond of our other main character and Trixie’s ex-best friend – Lucy. I liked Lucy, but I wasn’t crazy about her. I just couldn’t identify with her voice and her loss; I think she sometimes felt too sorry for herself and she made some irresponsible decisions. I didn’t really like Simon. I got real creeper vibes from him and he was seriously too clingy too fast.

I imagine that the waves wash away the guilt and stupidity and grief, especially the grief.

I liked the fact that both main character’s parents were present in the story, but they weren’t present enough. In Ben’s case his parents were there but he was never really reprimanded for his stupid mistakes (like his underage drinking). Sure his mom acknowledged it but it was left at that. The same with Lucy’s parents; they were there and she was grounded for things that she did, but it wasn’t ever taken further than that. So I was happy about the family dynamics, but I thought it could do with a bit of fine tuning.

like-this

As I Am

Overall I definitely think this is a must read if you’re in the mood for a romantic contemporary novel. It also doesn’t hurt that the theme of death is brilliantly explored and that the relationship will keep you on the edge of your seat.

michelle-2

 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

7 thoughts on “Heartbreakingly Real | The Last Thing You Said

  1. I kind of regret not requesting this on NetGalley now. It sounds almost exactly like what I enjoy in a more serious, emotional type of contemporary. It sucks that the parents weren’t as present as they could have been. Especially given what happened and what the main characters were going through but I’m glad there was a great friendship dynamic. I am definitely going to have to read this one at some point. Great review, Michelle! 😊♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

