Great Nostalgia | Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince

 This is a spoiler-free review.

harry-potter-and-the-half-blood-prince

 Book Title: Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince.

 Author: J.K. Rowling.

 Series: Harry Potter #6.

 Page Count: 542 Pages (Paperback).

 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

 Synopsis

There is was, hanging in the sky above the school: the blazing green skull with a serpent tongue, the mark Death Eaters left behind whenever they had entered a building… wherever they had murdered…

When Dumbledore arrives at Privet Drive one summer night to collect Harry potter, his wand hand is blackened and shrivelled, but he does not reveal why. Secrets and suspicion are spreading through the wizarding world, and Hogwarts itself is not safe. Harry is convinced that Malfoy bears the Dark Mark: there is a Death Eater amongst them. Harry will need powerful magic and true friends as he explores Voldemort’s darkest secrets, and Dumbledore prepares him to face his destiny.


Every time I read Half-Blood Prince a sense of nostalgia and sadness comes over me. It’s the second last book in a fantastic series and it’s the one where things get really serious. It also features so many great last moments – It’s the last time that Harry and the rest get onto the Hogwarts Express and it’s the last time Harry steps foot inside Hogwarts for educational purposes. This book just brings forth so many last time, but I love it nevertheless. 

 What I Liked:

The writing. The writing in Order of the Phoenix had already taken a dark turn, but it’s even better and more haunting in Half-Blood Prince. As the series progresses Rowling’s writing just gets better and better and I think that is one of the main reasons why the later books are some of my favourites.

Half-Blood Prince again brings amazing character development, but the person that grows the most in this book is definitely Draco Malfoy. This books is where I loved to hate Draco. He makes some seriously awful decisions, but he was bullied and I really enjoyed his character development. I also think that Snape underwent massive character development, he got what he always desired and I think that said a lot about him and his actions. Naturally after the events in Order of The Phoenix Harry was a different character, maybe even a better character.

It is the unknown we fear when we look upon death and darkness, nothing more.

I really loved the relationship between Harry and Dumbledore and I wish that they could’ve started this bond sooner in the series. Dumbledore is such a great mentor to Harry and I think that Harry appreciated the lessons he had with Dumbledore. I think it was almost like Dumbledore was filling some kind of fatherly void and it’s just so sad that they only spent a small amount of time together.

Again I just enjoyed simple everyday moments such as lessons and Quidditch games and just meals in the Great Hall. I also loved the little interaction that there was with Luna as she is still one of my absolute favourite characters.

 What I Disliked:

I understand where Hermione’s behaviour came from but I thought it a bit immature. I think that if she was just upfront with Ron a lot of conflict and temper tantrums could’ve been avoided. I hate it when there is conflict between the Golden Trio because it makes me feel sad.

 If you liked this, you’ll like…

Order of the Phoenix

Obviously I’m recommending it; definitely one of the best ones in the series.

michelle-2

 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

8 thoughts on “Great Nostalgia | Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince

  1. So glad you loved this too. I hated the conflict between Ron and Hermione. Its why Goblet of Fire makes me so anxious because I just want them to be friends haha!
    I love the tension between Ron and Hermione throughout the series though, every moment they share i’m always smiling like ‘yay’.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

