Diversity Spotlight Thursday | Love Stories & Depression

Diversity Spotlight Thursdays is a weekly feature in which I share a diverse book that I’ve read and enjoyed, a diverse book on my TBR and a diverse book that is releasing soon 

 A Book I’ve Read.

All The Bright Places

 All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven || Elements of Diversity: Depression and BiPolar Disorder.

All The Bright Places is one my all time favourite novels; I absolutely fell in love with Niven’s writing style, but I fell even more in love with the characters she created. Her characters were real and raw and her take on the characters mental illnesses are amazing. The depression and bipolar representation is amazing and the best part is that love doesn’t cure everything in this one.

 A Book On My TBR.

Girl in Pieces

 Girl In Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow || Elements of Diversity: Depression.

Girl In Pieces has been on my radar ever since I’ve heard about it and I hesitantly added it to my TBR. I’m so interested in this story as I’ve heard that the writing is raw and real and honest, but I’m also a bit wary because of the contents of this novel. Girl In Pieces heavily focuses on self-harm and depression which is somewhat of a trigger point for me, I’m really hoping to pick it up soon though.

 A Book That Is Being Released Soon.

When Dimple Met Rishi

 When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon || Elements of Diversity: Indian Main Characters.

I’m so so excited for this book! Firstly, I’m so super happy that this book will feature numerous POC and that there is a POC on the cover of the book. Secondly, I’m excited to experience dating and relationships from an Indian perspective; plus I love cute contemporaries and I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews! When Dimple Met Rishi will be released 30 May 2017.

Have you read any of these books and what was your experience? Are any of these on your own personal TBR? Let me know in the comments!

michelle-2

 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

 Diversity Spotlight Thursdays are created by Aimal from Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Be sure to check out her post for more information. 

 

19 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday | Love Stories & Depression

  1. Oh man. I read All the Bright Places a couple months ago and it gets me in the feels so much. I love the characters so much and watching them struggle makes me feel like I’m struggling. I hated the parents though, they were so unsupportive and disappointing. I heard the book is going to be made into a movie, so I really hope it does the book justice. The book is just so beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read All the Bright Places, but I pretty much know the story (and that ending). Glad to hear it’s among your favourite books too! 😛 When Dimple Met Rishi sounds like fun, the whole Indian perspective of relationships is sure to bring some nice angles to the story! Nice picks for this feature. 😀

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have All The Bright Places on my bookshelf (like all my books just waiting to be picked up) but I can’t bring myself to read it right now. My friend read it the other day and the message I received was just crying faces like ‘don’t read it unless your ready to cry’ – i’m not ready. I definitely want to pick it up at some point though. I still have Me Before You burned into my brain and the immense crying that followed and the book hangover.

    Great Post Michelle 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Hannah 💕
      Oh yes! Be sure to have some tissues at the ready when you decide to read it. It’s amazing though; the writing, the characters, the representation, just everything is so so good! I hope you enjoy it.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love All the Bright Places! I thought the characters were really well done and Niven’s writing was great. “When Dimple Met Rishi” is such an adorable book! I hope you like it when you read it. Girl in Pieces is on my tbr too, I need to read it soon, I’ve heard great things about it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

