Unfortunately Unenjoyable | Pretty Fierce

 This is a spoiler-free review.

Pretty Fierce

 Book Title: Pretty Fierce.

 Author: Kieran Scott.

 Series: Standalone.

 Page Count: 320 Pages (Kindle Edition).

 Genres: Young Adult Contemporary.

 Rating: 🌟🌟.5

 I kindly received a copy from Sourcebooks Fire on Netgalley for review, this has in no way affected my opinion.

 Synopsis

Kaia has been on the run her whole life. The daughter of professional assassins, she knows true danger—and she’ll do anything to survive. After her parents vanished during a job gone bad, Kaia’s spent the last year in hiding, trying to blend in as an ordinary teenager, and there’s no one who makes her feel more normal or more special than her boyfriend, Oliver.

But when she’s jumped by a hit man, and Oliver catches her fighting back, Kaia’s secret is exposed. In a split-second decision, she flees the small town, taking Oliver with her. With professional killers stalking their every move, can Oliver and Kaia protect each other long enough to uncover the mysteries of her past?

 Pretty Fierce will be released 4 April 2017.


Pretty Fierce was one of those novels that I desperately wanted to love. I instantly got intrigued by the synopsis as I’m always searching for YA books with loads of action and a sense of thrill or mystery. Unfortunately Pretty Fierce didn’t manage to live up to my expectations.

 What I Liked:

I really liked Oliver. He was an interesting and caring character; he really liked and cared for Kaia and he also cared for his stepbrother at home and was constantly worried whether his brother was okay without him. I also appreciated that he came from difficult circumstances, he wasn’t the perfect character and I liked that about him.

 What I Disliked:

Firstly I really didn’t like Kaia. She was a bland character and narrator and she tried too hard to convince Oliver that she was exactly like him. I wasn’t really interested in her story and I didn’t really feel any remorse for her situation. Her character was too “unreal” to be able to fit into a contemporary novel, she would’ve been better suited in an action movie.

The same goes for the plot; it was a bit too far fetched for you everyday contemporary. It almost read like a script for a movie instead of a book. I know that loads of movies are based on books, but this was too unrealistic to belong to the contemporary box. The plot along with a bland narrator made me feel indifferent towards the book and it’s content; ultimately I didn’t really enjoy it.

There was also talks about domestic violence that wasn’t properly addressed. Oliver kept on talking about domestic violence in his home and Kaia commented that she’ll make sure that it never happens again – hinting that she’ll send someone to sort it out. I didn’t really appreciate this, as I felt that violence is not the answer to violence; I would’ve liked for them to just address it more and talk about the right way to handle it.

 If you liked this, you’ll like…

Like Candy

I thought it had lots of potential if it was only tweaked a little bit. I’m sure that loads of movie buffs will still like this.

michelle-2

 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

10 thoughts on “Unfortunately Unenjoyable | Pretty Fierce

  1. Too bad this book did not convince you. Kaia does sound like an action movie character and no, violence is not the answer to violence, and this message shouldn’t be in a YA book! Great and honest review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

