Diversity Spotlight Thursday | LGBTQ+

Diversity Spotlight Thursdays is a weekly feature in which I share a diverse book that I’ve read and enjoyed, a diverse book on my TBR and a diverse book that is releasing soon 

 A Book I’ve Read.

a-thousand-nights-to-die

 A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston || Elements of Diversity: The main character and most of the other characters are POC.

really liked this book. It was rich and warm and it definitely kept me on my toes. The writing was amazing, so lyrical and rich. But the thing I enjoyed the most was definitely the culture of our characters along with their traditions. I also loved the desert setting and felt that it made the novel more “authentic”. I definitely recommend reading this.

 A Book On My TBR.

Art of Being Normal

 The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson || Elements of Diversity: LGBTQ+ (specifically Transgender) representation.

This book was really huge when it came out. I’ve always wanted to read it as it is focuses on a Transgender character and I’ve always been interested in learning more about what it’s like being Transgender. I’m hoping that the representation will be accurate, but so far I’ve heard nothing bad. I’ve recently bough a copy so I’m hoping I can get to it soon!

 A Book That Is Being Released Soon.

upside-of-unrequited

 The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli || Elements of Diversity: LGBTQ+ representation.

I’m so so excited to read this! I have not yet read Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda but I’ve heard nothing but great things. This is why I’m really excited to read The Upside of Unrequited because I’m sure it’s going to be very cute and the LGBTQ+ representation will be spot on. The Upside of Unrequited will be released 11 April 2017.

Have you read any of these books and what was your experience? Are any of these on your own personal TBR? Let me know in the comments!

michelle-2

 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

 Diversity Spotlight Thursdays are created by Aimal from Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Be sure to check out her post for more information. 

5 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday | LGBTQ+

Leave a Reply

