The One In Which Everything Changes | Harry Potter and The Order of The Phoenix

 This is a spoiler-free review.

Order of the Phoenix

 Book Title: Harry Potter and The Order of The Phoenix.

 Author: J.K. Rowling.

 Series: Harry Potter #5.

 Page Count: 800 Pages (Paperback).

 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

 Synopsis

Dark times have come to Hogwarts. After the Dementors’ attack on his cousin Dudley, Harry Potter knows that Voldemort will stop at nothing to find him. There are many who deny the Dark Lord’s return, but Harry is not alone: a secret order gathers at Grimmauld Place to fight against the Dark forces. Harry must allow Professor Snape to teach him how to protect himself from Voldemort’s savage assaults on his mind. But they are growing stronger by the day and Harry is running out of time…


Order of the Phoenix is yet another fantastic book in the series. I always feel like this book is the start to everything. Things really get real in Order of The Phoenix and the characters undergo some massive character growth, overall this book just seems to hit home every single time.

 What I Liked:

I loved the addition of more characters to the story, especially Luna Lovegood and Tonks. I love, love that we get to meet Luna; she’s one of my absolute favourite characters in the series and I’m always ecstatic when she eventually makes her appearance. I also love Tonks, I love her personality and the fact that she’s clumsy (just like me) and I also love that she makes the story interesting with her metamorphoses.

Character growth is huge in this book. So many good and bad things happen to Harry in this novel that I feel like he is almost a brand new character at the end of the novel. I really liked the person he was in the DA meetings, I think he felt valued and that really meant a lot to him. I also like that romance was a part of his life, it really reminds us that the characters are growing up and becoming “adults”.

Things we lose have a way of coming back to us in the end, if not always in the way we expected. 

Fred and George were especially enjoyable. I loved how creative and clever they were with all they’re skiving sneakboxes, canary creams and all their other little tricks. I really loved the DA club, I really wanted to be a part of that club and I loved how good all the characters got in defensive spells; especially Neville, his character growth is massive and I loved it. It was also fun to read out about Hagrid’s journey to the giants and also to learn about his big secret named Grawp.

I always like this novel as it gives us so much information towards the end of the book. We get so many answers to questions that we’ve been curious about for four novels! Even though the ending to this one is sad I always find it really interesting and it is one of my favourite endings of the series.

 What I Disliked:

Umbridge. I’m sure everyone despised Umbridge just as much as I did. She’s the foulest character ever and I’m pretty sure she was a Death Eater in her previous life. Even though I didn’t like her I must admit that Rowling’s writing is just brilliant for creating such a despicable character.

I love Quidditch. I really love reading about it and the action that comes with it, so it was rather disappointing when Harry got banned from playing Quidditch. This meant that I couldn’t follow the actions and adventures of catching the snitch. So this took some enjoyment away. But at least the rest of the story was filled with numerous other adventures.

Just because you have the emotional range of a teaspoon doesn’t mean we all have.

Harry was a bit of a drama queen and he was constantly trying to pick a fight with everyone, I know that this was probably to do with the fact that he shared some weird connection with Lord Voldemort, but still, I hate it when there is tension between the three of them. This also brings me to the constant bickering between everyone, especially Ron and Hermion, but maybe it’s just romantic tension.

 If you liked this, you’ll like…

goblet-of-fire

Overall this is yet another one of my favourites in the series. Read it and weep.

michelle-2

 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

9 thoughts on “The One In Which Everything Changes | Harry Potter and The Order of The Phoenix

Leave a Reply

