A Definite New Favourite | Queens of Geek

 This is a spoiler-free review.

queens-of-geek

 Book Title: Queens of Geek.

 Author: Jen Wilde.

 Series: Standalone.

 Page Count: 288 Pages (Kindle Edition).

 Genres: Young Adult, Mental Health & LGBTQ+

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

 I kindly received a copy from Swoon Reads on Netgalley for review, this has in no way affected my opinion. 

 Synopsis

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Jason Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

 Queens of Geek will be available 14 March 2017.


Queens of Geek was pure perfection and I’m so incredibly happy that I got the opportunity to read an early copy of this book. Queens of Geek was so good that I read it in one single sitting; I was so engrossed in the story that I simply couldn’t put it down! This story is so positive and uplifting I just couldn’t help but love it.

 What I really, really liked:

Queens of Geek is a very character driven novel (which I love by the way) so it’s a huge plus that I absolutely fell in love with all the characters! I loved the relatability of everything; I could relate to the characters and the way they were feeling and I could also relate to loads of situations the characters found themselves in – this relatability made it a very, very enjoyable read! In the story we follow two very different girls around SupaCon (which is an awesome setting for a novel) where they go through different things including two different romantic relationships. Taylor is the shy girl with a great love for her fandom and I could totally relate to Taylor on that level; she loved The Firestone books so much and they had changed her life; and I feel that way about Harry Potter.

Then we have Charlie, a rising star. I really loved Charlie as well as she was in perfect contrast with Taylor, but together they were still the best of friends and had the most amazing bond. I liked that the story was told in dual POV as this made it feel like we got a glimpse of what SupaCon is like for just an average fan and what it is like for a celebrity. Another one of my favourite characters were Jamie, a friend of Charlie and Taylor’s and also the person on whom Taylor has a giant crush! I absolutely adored Jamie; he was so supportive of both Taylor and Charlie and he totally understood Taylor’s anxiety issues.

All these words that people have for describing bodies seem a bit much to me. 

The female friendships in this was kickass! Not just the friendship between Charlie and Taylor, but also the friendships between Taylor and some of the other girls at the Con. These friendships were uplifting, supportive, empowering and refreshing. There was little to no bitchiness between them and I loved that, because friends are there to support one another, not to break one another down! I also loved that Wilde focused so much on body positivity and that she placed emphasize on the fact that your worth is not determined by your weight.

I also loved that this was an ownvoice novel. The parts of the book that focused on anxiety was so well written that I think it gives a very accurate and real description of how it feels to live with anxiety. We also discover that Taylor suffers from Autism Spectrum Disorder; this automatically had me sitting up straighter in my chair as this is not something that is widely represented in YA literature and I’m just so happy that we got that representation.

Anxiety isn’t an attack that explodes out of me; it’s not a volcano that lies dormant until it’s triggered by an earth-shattering event. It’s a constant companion. 

Then we get to even more awesomeness (you probably didn’t think that was possible) more diversity! Our other main character, Charlie, is bisexual and from Asian/Australian decent. I absolutely loved the bisexual aspect of this book and I adored the f/f relationship. The relationship was cheesy (a bit of insta-love) but still totally swoon-worthy! There was loads of chemistry and attraction and I just shipped it so hard!

 If you liked this, then you’ll like:

things-i-should-have-known

Overall I just feel like this is such a “girl power” novel and I don’t have anything bad to say about it, I really cannot wait to see what the author comes up with next! Please do yourself a favour and read this! The representation in this is amazing and it will leave you with a smile on your face.

michelle-2

 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

13 thoughts on “A Definite New Favourite | Queens of Geek

  1. I’ve seen this book on NetGalley plenty of times but never requested it because I didn’t think I’d like it. But now that I’ve read your review – I really think I need to pick this one up! The fact that it has such empowering friendships is wonderful – what with all the discussion about girl-girl hate going around in the bookish community lately. Lovely review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This book sounds like a winner! Female friendship? You have me here! I mean, I’m tired of female characters fighting each other or just being stupid because of boys. And with the addition of a good representation of anxiety, I’d say the story deserves to be everywhere! Great review !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 💖
      Me too! I definitely want more books with womwn empowering other women. Well it’s an #ownvoice novel and I felt like the representation was good, but I think you’ll maybe be a better judge on that. I hope you love it as much as I did if you decide to.read it!

      Like

  3. Yeah, it’s official I’m going to have to read this! I’ve been hearing how much people have loved it but your review is the first I’ve read and now I’m really excited. I love the fact that it’s a great representation of anxiety and that it features some great female friendships. I’m so glad you ended up enjoying this one, Michelle. Great review!! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

