My Favourite Book In The Series | Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire

 This is a spoiler-free review.

goblet-of-fire

 Book Title: Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire.

 Author: J.K. Rowling.

 Series: Harry Potter #4.

 Page Count: 617 Pages (Paperback).

 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

 Synopsis

The Triwizard Tournament is to be held at Hogwarts. Only wizards who are over seventeen are allowed to enter – but that doesn’t stop Harry dreaming that he will win the competition. Then at Hallowe’en, when the Goblet of Fire makes its selection, Harry is amazed to find his name is one of those that the magical cup picks out. He will face death-defying tasks, dragons and Dark wizards, but with the help of his best friends, Ron and Hermione, he might just make it through – alive!


Goblet of Fire has forever been my favourite book in the series; it just has so much going for it and there’s so much action and adventure. This book is jam packed with action; from the Quidditch World Cup to the Triwizard Tournament to coming face to face with Lord Voldemort – this entire book will have you on the edge of your seat! Plus there’s amazing plot twists and great character development.

 What I really liked:

I love all the action and adventure. There’s action and adventure when they go to the Quidditch world cup; the scenes that take place during the world cup are definitely some of my favourites. The descriptions of the campsite and the Quidditch match are so vivid and detailed that it almost feels like I’m right there! I’m still upset that they decided to cut this from the movies. The action of The Triwizard tournament also always has me on the edge of my seat. The concept behind it was simply brilliant and I love all the tasks, but the lake task is definitely my favourite. 

What I also loved was the addition of the other magical schools. Before this book and the mention of Durmstrung and Beauxbaton I also always thought that Hogwarts was the only magical school in the world. The brilliance of J.K’s writing always seems to amaze me during Goblet of Fire. Everything that happens is just so cunning and everything just all of a sudden clicks into place and all the puzzle pieces just seem to fit. It’s brilliant and the ending always has me amazed.

It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be.

Character development is huge in this book. Harry grows up a little more especially when he faces all the dangers of the Triwizard Tournament and everything that happens after he touches the cup in the maze. I think that Ron also gets a bit of a wake-up call; especially when it comes to romance and Hermione. Hermione comes out of her shell some more and I really loved seeing the more relaxed side of Hermione at the Yule Ball.

 What I disliked:

I don’t like Ron’s childish behaviour after the Goblet shoots out Harry’s name. I understand that he was jealous, but it always somehow seems to make my reading experience less enjoyable. I think it’s simply because there is some tension and Harry Potter is all about happy things for me.

If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals. 

I’m also not as fond of the house elf called Winky. I don’t know why, but I just don’t like her or her part in the book.

 If you liked this, then you’ll like…

Chamber of Secrets prisoner-of-azkaban

Definitely recommend! Especially this one as it’s my favourite in the series.

michelle-2

 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

32 thoughts on “My Favourite Book In The Series | Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire

  1. I’m currently reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (have you read it?) and the references to Goblet of Fire is giving me serious feels! Great review😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review for this book Michelle, also I’ve been seeing plenty of people who have bee re-reading the Harry potter series so I feel it’s a sign for me to grab my copies and re-read it again.
    I don’t think I could actually pick one favourite from the series, I do enjoy Goblet of Fire because it feels like that’s when everything changes for the characters what with Voldemort actually being properly back again, and I really loved reading about the Triwizard Tournament and seeing the other schools. I kind of wish we’d got to see more of the wizarding community outside of Hogwarts later in the series as well. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A Harry Potter re-read is always a good idea in my opinion 💕 I think that’s the reason why it’s one of my favourites, it’s like the bridge book between good and evil. After GOF everything changes. Oh yes a book set outside of Hogwarts and exploring other wizards and wizard communities would be brilliant 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same here! 😀 I think I just love all the books equally but actually Goblet of Fire is a great one, and a good way to bridge the series if that makes sense, split it in two halves.
        Here’s hoping, it seems there’s always more being released in this world! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh I always love seeing reviews of the Harry Potter books, just because everyone has their personal preference for which of the 7 books are their favourite! I lvoed reading your thoughts, mainly because Goblet of Fire is actually my least favourite of the series (though of course I still adore it). Only because my favourite part of the books is the trio’s friendship, and in this book that sort of breaks up. I also really don’t care for Quidditch, which is the entire beginning of the book so it takes me a while to get into! BUT I can see why so many people love it! It definitely made the wizarding world more interesting, mainly because it did go from the UK to the wizarding WORLD, with Durmstrang and Beauxbatons. It’s incredible ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely have to agree with the trio’s friendship, it’s actually my least favourite part of the book. I really hated it when Rom and Harry were mad at each other. But it is really lovely to see everyone’s perspective in the series 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This one is my favourite as well!!! I agree about Ron’s behaviour, though he tends to act childish quite a few times throughout the series doesn’t he. I think I read somewhere that JK Rowling didn’t really like him very much which is why he tends to not always come across in a good light…but I don’t know if that is true or not, because he does have other redeeming qualities. Lol I wasn’t a fan of Winky either. Sometimes the whole house elf thing annoyed be a bit and I don’t know why. I like Dobby though. Awesome review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much 💕
      That would be so interesting if it were true! Definitely going be googling conspiracy theories 😂 Also have to agree with the house elf thing, but Dobby wasn’t too bad.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Loved this review! Harry Potter is, and always will be, my favourite series, each book is better than the last & I just can’t get enough of the Wizarding World. So much that I’m re-reading it right now. I think the Prisoner of Azkaban is my favourite book in the series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 💕
      Harry Potter is definitely my favourite series too and you’re absolutely right, the books just keep on getting better and better! I like Prisoner of Azkaban too, especially because it features Lupin and Sirius 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ouuuhh glad to hear this one is your favourite of the series! I haven’t read any of the HP books (I know.. I know..) but I’ve seen all the movies (except the Fantastic Beast one)! I do look forward to reading this series and finding out which one would end up being my favourite! Great review! 🙂

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 💕
      Aaaw, I wish I could read them all for the first time again! I loved all the movies, but the books are just so much better. You get to know the characters better in the books (in my opinion). I also still need to watch Fantastic Beasts, so looking forward to that 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Yay! I’ve been looking forward to your Goblet of Fire review. This one is definitely my favorite out of all of the Harry Potter books too. I love how much action it had and I agree with you about the lake task that one was my favorite too. Great review, Michelle!! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Among all the books in the series, Goblet of Fire is also my most favorite! Even in the movie series! (Aside of course from Deathly Hallows) The most memorable (and most amazing i think) scene for me is that part when Lord Voldemort rise again. That was just epic!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. It is a close call. I will admit that, but I have to go with The Half Blood Prince as my favorite in the series. Everything does seem to go to the next level in the Goblet of Fire, but nothing like it does in the Half Blood Prince. Thank you for sharing this great review. The best part of Harry Potter is that they are all good, and its like we are picking between our children. We love them all! haha.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. 1) i totally agreed with you on Ron’s childish behavior. that was uncalled for and not particularly nice of him.
    2) this post won me over by that one quote from sirius black….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

