A Satisfactory Ending | The Black Key

This is a spoiler-free review, except if you have not read the previous books in the series.  

black-key

 Book Title: The Black Key.

 Author: Amy Ewing.

 Series: The Lone City #3.

 Page Count: 304 Pages (Paperback).

 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Dystopian.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟

 I kindly received a copy from Pan Macmillan South Africa for review, this has in no way affected my opinion

 Synopsis

Violet and the Society of the Black Key are preparing to launch an attack on the royalty, and Violet has a crucial role to play. She must lead the surrogates as they infiltrate the Auction and break down the walls of the Lone City. But with her sister, Hazel, imprisoned in the palace of the Lake, Violet is torn. In order to save her sister, she must abandon her cause and her friends and return to the Jewel.


thoughts-2

The Black Key is the last book in the amazing Lone City dystopian series. I’ve loved this series since the very first book and I thought that the story line was totally unique, so I was super excited to see how it would all come to an end. I felt that the ending was satisfactory, but everything wrapped up a little too perfectly. 

Black Key picks up exactly where White Rose ended, with Violet and the rest of the Paladin girls in hiding at The White Rose. The Black Key rebellion is in full swing and the plan to take down the wall is still in action. I loved that it just picked up where the previous book left off, it felt like we didn’t miss anything and was thrown into the action. I also loved that this book was just as action packed as the previous two installments.

The people you love make you strong, Violet. They make you brave and fearless. I wish there were some way I could make you see that.

I loved the route that the plot took in this last book, it was risky, rebellious and full of action. However, I found Violet to be a bit annoying in this book, she was selfish and she made stupid decisions. In the end it did pay off, but at great risks to everyone else in the story and her stupidity even lead to the deaths of innocent people. I felt that the story was too one-sided, we only got to see things from Violet’s perspective and I felt like we missed out on a lot of “behind the scenes” action. I would have loved to see what Raven got up too, as well as Garnet & Ash.

I also felt that the romance took a back seat and when it was present it appeared a bit lackluster. It wasn’t romantic anymore, there was no sparks or any attraction. I felt like there should’ve been more focus on the romance, between all the romantically involved characters, not just Violet and Ash.

Overall I thought the ending was satisfactory, but it felt rushed and everything was just hurriedly tied together. The ending was almost too perfect and loads of things were left unanswered.

likeddisliked

 Liked:

  • I liked that the plot was just as action packed as in the previous two books.
  • I liked the direction in which the plot went. It was risky and rebellious and action-packed.

 Disliked:

  • The romance aspect fell flat. There was no longer any sparks or attraction.
  • Violet was a bit of an irritation, I felt like she made stupid decisions that costed characters their lives.
  • I felt like we missed out on some of the plot as we only saw things from Violet’s perspective.
  • The ending felt rushed and too perfect.

like-this

the-selection Winner's Curse

 I’ll still recommend this series. I think this series is perfect if you’re a lover of contemporary, but you’re interested in exploring the Fantasy/Dystopian genre.

michelle-2

 Instagram  Goodreads  Twitter

One thought on “A Satisfactory Ending | The Black Key

Leave a Reply

