I Need The Sequel | Three Dark Crowns

 This is a spoiler-free review.

three-dark-crowns

 Title: Three Dark Crowns.

 Author: Kendare Blake.

 Series: Three Dark Crowns #1.

 Page Count: 405 Pages (Paperback).

 Genres: Young Adult & Fantasy.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 and a half stars.

 I kindly received a copy from Pan Macmillan South Africa for review, this has in no way affected my opinion.

 Synopsis

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose . . . it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.


thoughts-2I was pleasantly surprised by Three Dark Crowns! It was dark and thrilling and such a guilty pleasure read. Sure – it wasn’t perfect and there are things that could’ve been a bit better, but overall it was a really pleasant reading experience.

It takes a little while to warm up to the story, but this is partially due to the fact that there are so many characters involved in the story. Each princess has her own family, friends and relationships which means there are loads of characters to keep track off and if you don’t concentrate you’re sure to miss something. What makes it better is the fact that each princess has her own chapter (with a heading) which made it easier to keep track of things.

Every gift is light and dark. 

The plot and the entire story line was way darker than I had anticipated, but I absolutely loved it. It was dark and twisting and some of the plot twists really had me on the edge of my seat. I loved the three princesses and the fact that they were all so very different from one another. My favourite character was definitely Katherine, she’s ruthless and definitely my favourite for the crown. Arsinoe comes in at a close second. I loved her down to earth nature and I could definitely see that she was a naturalist. I didn’t like Mirabelle, she was too much of a goody two shoes for my liking. I don’t want to elaborate too much as I think you should really get to know the characters for yourself.

I want revenge. And then I want my crown. 

I also liked some of the supporting characters in the novel, especially Jules and her cougar Camden. It almost felt like Jules was a main character as she got featured so much and we learned so much about her. This novel felt like a treasure chest; the more you read, the more you discover. There just so many things that you learn from each character and the situation they’re in. The world building felt a little bit lacking though; I would’ve loved to have some more information on how this game came to be along with general information about the island and its inhabitants.

Overall I really enjoyed this and I cannot wait to get my hands on the sequel.

likeddisliked

 Liked:

  • I really enjoyed the plot, I totally got caught up in the whole story.
  • I liked that it was dark and twisty.
  • I loved the main characters and each of their powers.
  • I can’t wait for the sequel; I need to know how it ends!

 Disliked:

  • The plot started off really slow and it was hard to get into at first, but it gets better.
  • I would’ve preferred some more world building.

like-this

the-crowns-game

I think that this is a great book, yes it takes a little while to get to the good part, but in the end it’s definitely worth it. Definitely recommending it!

michelle-2

 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

7 thoughts on “I Need The Sequel | Three Dark Crowns

  1. The problem I had with this book is that it felt like a giant introduction to something more! Only the last chapters delivered on action, so even if I love a good characterization, I was so bored at some point I almost DNFed it! But I had invested too much time and energy already… I would have been more patient had I known there was a sequel to read and it would have been wiser of me to read this book just before the release of the second!! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 💕
      I can totally understand and relate to that. It does take a long time to get into the action of things and it definitely was an introduction to something bigger (hopefully).
      Hopefully the sequel blows you away 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

