A Bit Of A Let Down | The Book of Mirrors

 This is a spoiler-free review.

book-of-mirros

 Book Title: The Book of Mirrors.

 Author: E.O. Chirovici.

 Series: Standalone.

 Page Count: 336 Pages (Paperback).

 Genres: Fiction, Crime & Mystery.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟 and a half stars.

 I kindly received a copy from Penguin Randomhouse South Africa for review, this has in no way affected my opinion. 

 Synopsis:

When big-shot literary agent Peter Katz receives an unfinished manuscript entitled The Book of Mirrors, he is intrigued.

The author, Richard Flynn is writing a memoir about his time at Princeton in the late 80s, documenting his relationship with the famous Professor Joseph Wieder.

One night in 1987, Wieder was brutally murdered in his home and the case was never solved.

Peter Katz is hell-bent on getting to the bottom of what happened that night twenty-five years ago and is convinced the full manuscript will reveal who committed the violent crime.

But other people’s recollections are dangerous weapons to play with, and this might be one memory that is best kept buried.


thoughts-2

I received The Book of Mirrors as a surprise package in the mail and I was instantly intrigued after reading the synopsis. I’m a great lover of mystery/crime novels and I love playing detective while reading so I was super excited about reading this one.

The Book of Mirrors starts of really well and it had me on the edge of my seat from the first page. The book is divided into three parts and part one was definitely my favourite as it had the most action and set the scene for the rest of the novel. Part one outlines the scene for the murder of Professor Wieder, but then we’re left on a cliffhanger of sorts. The rest of the novel is where we’re suppose to uncover who the murdered was, but sadly part one is where all the good bits stopped.

The rest of the novel felt a bit bland and it wasn’t nearly as entertaining as the first bit. The second half just didn’t grip me as much as the first half and I got a bit confused with all the numerous role players that were constantly added to the plot. Then came the confession of whodunnit and I’m not sure that is what entirely believable or plausible – I’m actually still confused as to whom the actually murderer was. Let’s just say that it was all very anticlimactic. 

I did like the writing style, it was simplistic yet sophisticated. I enjoyed some of the characters and I loved getting a glimpse into their personal lives. Personally I think this would translate brilliantly into a film where we’ll actually be able to distinguish between all the characters as they all had such similar voices.

Overall not a bad read, but I would’ve loved being on the edge of my seat for the entire novel.

likeddisliked

 Liked:

  • The premise of the plot was really interesting, I think it maybe just lacked some execution.
  • I liked the writing style, it was easy to read and get into.
  • Part one was really, really good and it definitely had me on the edge of my seat.
  • I liked some of the characters.
  • I liked that we got to see into some of their personal lives.

 Disliked:

  • The execution of the plot could’ve been better.
  • I felt like the ending was anticlimactic and a huge let down.
  • I sometimes felt confused between all the characters as they all had the same voice and weren’t easily distinguishable.
  • There was no concrete ending and I felt dissatisfied after reading the ending.

like-this

now-that-shes-gone

This is book that I’ll recommend you read if you’re not that big into crime novels and aren’t that bothered by concrete endings.

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

8 thoughts on “A Bit Of A Let Down | The Book of Mirrors

Leave a Reply

