Ramblings | Can you run a successful blog and have a full time job at the same time?

With recent developments in my life I thought this topic would be perfect for this weeks Ramblings post. In case you’ve missed it I started my first “grown up” job this past week and let me tell you – it was tiring and what’s even worse is I had no time to blog or read. Now I’m not unhappy about my job, but I am a little upset that I don’t have time for my two favourite hobbies. So the question I want to explore is whether You can run a successful blog and have a full time job at the same time? 

ramblings

The short answer to this questions is definitely yes! With lots of hard work and some tips & tricks; I think it’s totally possible to have a successful blog and be a hard working individual – all at the same time!

 Planning and scheduling is everything!

Because the free hours you have in a day has now been drastically minimized, time for blogging becomes seriously limited. The simple solution to this; is to plan and schedule some blog posts ahead of time. This will not only help you to stay active in the blogging community, but it will also help your sanity if you know that your posts are planned, written and scheduled days (or even weeks) ahead of time.

 Make time to read, even when you’re super busy.

It’s hard when you work all day and when you get home you just want to chill out in front of the TV and watch something that will make you laugh. This means that the time you have to read is drastically less than before, but there are tons of ways for you to squeeze in some reading time into your already jam-packed schedule. You can set time aside to read before bed or even try out an audiobook. Also be sure to check out my Tips & Tricks on How to better utilize your reading time.

 Communicate with your followers.

Communication is key and I think it is totally important to communicate with your followers. Tell them that you have embarked on this new chapter in your life and that you might have less time to read and write. I’m sure loads of them have been there and they will definitely understand where you’re coming from! As long as you don’t keep them in the dark and they know what’s going on, all will be fine.

This is definitely a daunting period in anyone’s life but with hard work, dedication and a passion for what you’re doing it shouldn’t be hard having both a successful career and blog.

Do you think one can run a successful blog and have a full time job at the same time? What advice do you have in running a successful blog while working? Do you have a full time job and run a blog? Tell me all about it in the comments!

michelle-2

 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

40 thoughts on “Ramblings | Can you run a successful blog and have a full time job at the same time?

  1. Nice post 🙂
    I have been juggling a full time busy office job with blogging for a few years now… The bad thing is- yes, the reading and blogging time slows a bit.. but there are ways around it. Plus, eventually a certain routine develops as well with managing time, etc. I haven’t gotten into scheduling posts- not sure why I can’t see it working for me, maybe I’m just impatient and when I have a post rearing and ready to go, I want to publish it straight away 🙂 After work, when brain is tired and man fed at home, I normally choose to read rather than watch TV. News, yes, but all the Netflixes and movie channels are a no-no because reading takes priority 🙂

    As for reading/blogging with work- I use my lunch hours to read/create a draft of a review or actually write a review and while it’s sometimes sad that I don’t have a whole pile of time to make super funky posts with fabulous graphics, I am still blogging and that’s what matters I guess 🙂

    Congrats on the new job and good luck with finding that routine that works best for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aaaw, thanks so much 😊 I absolutely love your comment! It’s reassuring to know that at some stage I’ll actually develop a routine that I’ll feel comfortable with and that will help me feel productive 😊 At the moment I’m just so tired when I get home that I don’t really have the energy to blog, but I should definitely read more as a relaxation technique rather than watch TV!
      I’m not really comfortable with reading/creating posts in my lunch hour yet, I don’t know what’s allowed and what isn’t. A blog posts also doesn’t have to have fancy graphics to be amazing, it’s about what you have to say that counts 🌸😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep, I get your worries around what you can/can’t do at work as of yet, but you’ll settle in soon enough and it’ll be all easy-peasy then 🙂 I hope you enjoy work- it is tiring, being an adult is tiring 😀 – but it’ll all work out! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I think it depends how “successful” you want your blog to be. I post 3 times a week and have a full time job but for me success isn’t as important as “meeting” new people in the community. I don’t really count followers and likes the way others do I count the people who are friendly enough to drop by even if it’s just to say great post. It is hard work to keep up with what others post and comments etc but I try my best to set aside 15minutes a day (at least) to play catch up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True, success might mean different things to different bloggers, but I must definitely agree that having interaction with a few good blogger friends on a daily basis is much more important to me than having a big follower count with no friends 🌸😊 I’m definitely going to try and set aside a little time in the evenings to interact with bloggers 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with Kirsty. Writing is my goal. I was going to grad school and working a full time job, now that I graduated, I have a lot more free time in the evenings. And that’s how my blog started lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Scheduling is super important! I have a part time job, college full and half days throughout the week, and I’ve been running my blog for six months. Successful to me means attracting people to read my content, and I may not have a massive blog but that isn’t particularly how I see success. Also, reading during commutes or in lunch breaks is a great way to maximise your time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely agree with reading during commutes, I try and listen to an audio book but my commute is only about 15 minutes long, so I don’t get a lot done but every bit helps 😊 You’re blog looks successful to me and I totally agree that it’s about whether people actually read your blog or not 🌸

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I have a “part-time” job which really translates into like 35 hours, five days a week. Whereas in the fall, I was working around 20 hours. Then I was used to scheduling posts days in advance and having my entire blog calendar planned. Now all I want to do when I get home is lay on the couch and not touch my laptop or my notebook. And on my days off, it’s cleaning and errands and squeezing in a blog post among everything else. It’s definitely been a lot harder to focus on blogging when I’m working nearly full time hours. I think it requires a lot of motivation and dedication to getting it done, but I definitely think it’s possible for me to have a successful blog. I just need to focus and stay motivated in the time I do have, and hopefully blogging will be my full time job someday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Scheduling posts is definitely a life saver! I’m trying to utilize it more know that I don’t have as many free hours as I used one 😊 On my off days I do the same things, I have so many errands to run and when I get home I sometimes feel like I don’t have the energy or the willpower to actually blog and it sucks because I really love my blog and the community 💖 I think it’s important to find the perfect routine and then everything else will fall into place!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I work full time, and I’m not going to lie sometimes I feel like I am going to loose my mind. Between work, taking care of the husband and the house, and everything else sometimes it is just really hard to get around to posting. I think that scheduling is very important that way I can have a post go up while I’m at work and what not.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve not even been at work for one whole week and I’m already feeling like that! It just feels like I’m not making enough time for my blog and I hate that because it used to be my favourite thing to do in a day. Now sometimes I’m just too tired to even look at notifications 🙈 Definitely think that scheduling is important and that finding a routine is the perfect way in balancing a blog and a job 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I have a full time job and 2 tiny humans. My schedule is your typical Mon-Fri 9-5 & I make use of my ME time on the weekends whenever I get a chance. Thankfully I have a understanding hubby to help but it’s not often since we both are always running around trying to get everything done. I read on my commute to & from work (lengthy train ride), blog hop or read during my lunch hour & breaks in the office, respond to comments throughout the day so that they don’t accumulate. I also schedule post on Sunday nights for the week if possible. I enjoy reading blogs & staying in touch so I guess that’s how i’d measure my success 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m definitely planning on scheduling some ME time for weekends, because I think that’s really important to have 😊 I don’t have a lengthy commute and I’m not really comfortable with reading in my lunch hour yet (since I’m still very new to the company 🙈). So I’m trying to put an hour aside before bed or then just try and read as much over weekends and other free times. I also measure my success on the amount of friends I actually communicate with, follower count doesn’t really matter if you never talk to any of your followers 😊

      Like

  8. This is an awesome post and some really good advice! I work full-time as well, so I find I blog on lunch breaks or before/after work…which is why my posts don’t come out at specific times, they are a bit scattered lol. I have tried scheduling but it didn’t work so I am too scared to try and use it again.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I have a full time job, and I’m also taking two classes (6 units) this semester, along with blogging, and it can be done! I can honestly say that scheduling posts is a life saver. I read on my lunch break at work, and then late at night. I try to be a couple weeks out with my scheduled posts (I try for 2 posts a week), and that way if I’m too overwhelmed then I have some space and don’t feel rushed about my reading & blogging.
    Just remember that if you don’t feel like doing it, don’t! Take a night off! That’s my process, and that helps me from getting burned out with blogging. It’s hard work and takes dedication, but is worth it 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Definitely agree that it’s hard work, but the amazing community definitely makes it worth it 💖 I have taken a few nights off and I miss blogging, but it’s also good to have some time for yourself 😊 I’ve come to realise that scheduling is definitely very important, I know just have to plan my routine to fit in scheduling along with reading!

      Liked by 2 people

  10. I’m fairly new to the blogosphere, and it has been extremely difficult to keep up with it, make time for my son, work full time, and read! I’m trying to create a schedule now, which I think will help. Getting up extra early in the mornings has helped me!

    Liked by 2 people

  11. It is definitely harder to find time to read and blog when you are busy at work. I definitely read a load more when I am off, post nights etc! You will likely find work a bit less tiring as you get used to it too.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Great post! I’ve been working full-time for almost 6 years and I created my blog this past may… I wouldn’t say it’s successful, but I do think it’s possible to keep an active blog, read a lot and work! I don’t have children to take care of, that’s true 😛

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Thank you lovely! I thought I was following you 😞 So sorry, I still cant see my complete followers list.

        Here’s to both being successful at work and at blogging 😎

        Liked by 2 people

  13. I’ve been asking myself this question since I started blogging! I don’t know how people do to schedule weeks in advance, I can barely manage a week’s posts! I try to write everything during the weekends because that’s when I have the more time, and it leaves me an hour a day during the week to reply to comments or visit blogs… Well, that is when I can actually keep that plan! I still struggle to find reading time though!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m struggling so much to find time to read ever since I’ve started this new job 🙈 I either read in front of the TV at night or go to bed an hour earlier to try and read. I’m also struggling with scheduling posts way in advance, so I know exactly how you feel 😊

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

