The Magic Continues | Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets

 This is a spoiler-free review.

Chamber of Secrets

 Book Title: Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets.

 Author: J.K. Rowling.

 Series: Harry Potter #2.

 Page Count: 360 Pages (Paperback).

 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult & Magic.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 and a half stars.

 Synopsis

Harry Potter can’t wait for his holidays with the dire Dursleys to end. But a small, self-punishing house-elf warns Harry of mortal danger awaiting him at Hogwarts. Returning to the castle nevertheless, Harry hears a rumour about a Chamber of Secrets, holding unknown horrors for wizards of Muggle parentage. Now someone is casting spells that turn people to stone, and a terrible warning is found painted on the wall. The chief suspect – always in the wrong place – is Harry. But something much more terrifying has yet to be unleashed.


thoughts-2

Chamber of Secrets has always been my least favourite book of the series, but that doesn’t meant that it isn’t still absolutely amazing. It still definitely manages to warm your heart with all its magic and nostalgia, but I’m not as fond of the plot or some of the characters.

I still loved Rowling’s writing in this second book, it has that same magic touch that instantly pulls you in and makes you feel like you are truly part of the story. I felt like the writing has matured a bit, but that didn’t make it any less fun or enjoyable to read. The whole Chamber of Secrets plot has unfortunately never been one of my favourites but I understand the importance it plays going forward in the series.

It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities. 

There are loads of memorable moments that I enjoyed. Particularly the flying car scenes as well as the sudden appearance of Dobby the house elf. I also loved meeting Fawkes the phoenix for the first time and I would definitely not mind having one myself. This book definitely has a bit of a darker undertone to it, especially with the addition of darker creatures such as the Basilisk and the spiders in the forbidden forest.

I love how Hermione is coming out of her shell a little bit more and I definitely love her rebellious streak. Ron and Harry’s friendship just keeps on growing and how the bond between them just keeps getting stronger and stronger. One of the characters that made this book less enjoyable was Professor Lockhart. He is such a pompous, know-it-all and I really can’t stand his character!

I admit that there are loads happening in this book that is essential to the continuation of the series, but I’m definitely more excited for Prisoner of Azkaban.

likeddisliked

 Liked: 

  • Going back to Hogwarts.
  • The flying car scenes.
  • All the rule-breaking.
  • Hermione coming out of her shell a bit.
  • Fawkes the phoenix.
  • The friendship between Harry and Ron (and Hermione) growing stronger.

 Disliked:

  • It isn’t my favourite plot of the series.
  • I don’t like Lockhart as a character.

like-this

Illustrated HP illustrated-chamber-of-secrets

I’ll still definitely recommend it! I’ll always recommend Harry Potter.

michelle-2

 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

P.S: I’m on holiday. Please do not hesitate to comment and I’ll show you all some love as soon as I get back! 

5 thoughts on “The Magic Continues | Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets

Leave a Reply

