Let’s Go On A Voyage with Passenger

 This is a spoiler-free review.

passenger

 Book Title: Passenger.

 Author: Alexandra Bracken.

 Series: Passenger #1.

 Page Count: 486 Pages (Paperback).

 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Time Travel.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 stars.

 I kindly received a copy from Pan Macmillan South Africa for review, this has in no way affected my opinion. 

 Synopsis

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Pulled back through time to 1776 in the midst of a fierce sea battle, she has travelled not only miles, but years from home.

With the arrival of this unusual passenger on his ship, privateer Nicholas Carter has to confront a past that he can’t escape and the powerful Ironwood family who won’t let him go without a fight. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value; one they believe only Etta can find.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by an enigmatic traveler. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are playing, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta from Nicholas, and her way home, forever.


thoughts-2

I was weary when I first started reading Passenger because of the numerous unflattering reviews and simply because time-travel isn’t something I actively look for in books. Passenger really ended up surprising me! The time-travel element was exciting and interesting and the plot kept me intrigued, it definitely took me on an adventurous journey and I loved it. 

Even though I thoroughly enjoyed this novel I found the beginning to be quite heavy. There was a lot of info dumping going on and it just took some time for me to become fully immersed within the novel.  After that initial stage it really picked up and it became really hard to put down. I really enjoyed the time travel aspect and thought that it was smartly executed and totally different from the way time travel has been described in other books. I loved the beautiful and rich descriptions of all the places that Etta and Nicholas visited on their journey, especially Damascus with it’s beautiful dress sense and delightful deserts.

My favourite part of the novel was definitely when the actually traveling started as well as when the pacing picked up towards the second half of the book. The relationship between Etta and Nicholas also picks up towards the second half of the book and I really liked the romance between the two of them. It was somewhat forbidden and I felt that the chemistry was electric and I was totally rooting for them to eventually get together.

Etta was not my favourite character, I liked her well enough but I wasn’t all that excited to get to know her as a character. She was good at deciphering riddles but her general sense of decision making was horrid and she landed both her and Nicholas into lots of trouble – more than once! I really liked Nicholas, his character was rich and decadent and I just wanted to read from his perspective all the time. His character was interesting and he brought some diversity to the novel which automatically made me like him more.

All that is left for me to say is that I’m definitely looking forward to going on a different and new adventure with Etta, Nicholas and the Ironwoods when the sequel comes out in January.

likeddisliked

 Liked:

  • The time travel aspect was really fun and interesting.
  • I loved the descriptions of all the places that Etta and Nicholas traveled too.
  • I thought the romance was done well and that it wasn’t overkill.
  • I loved Nicholas’s character.
  • I’m excited for the sequel.

 Disliked:

  • It felt really heavy in the beginning and it took me quite a while to get into it.
  • I’m not a big fan of Etta as a character, but hopefully she’ll grow on me.

like-this

the-darkest-minds

I’m definitely recommending Passenger!

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

17 thoughts on “Let’s Go On A Voyage with Passenger

  1. Great review! I also really enjoyed the time travel shenanigans in this book, the author knows what she’s doing 🙂 I liked the romance and even if it took me some time, I started liking Etta a lot during the last part of the book. I’m looking forward to the second book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not a big fan of info-dumping but I’m intrigued by the whole time travel aspect. I haven’t read a lot of books with that before but I wouldn’t mind reading more and it seems as if the author did a great job with it. If this one is anywhere near as good as her first series was then I’m bound to love it. I’ll definitely be picking this and the second one up next year. Great review, Michelle! 😊♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Melissa 😊 I’ve never actually read that many books that feature time travel, so it was definitely a great way to venture more into that genre. I hope you enjoy it when you decide to read it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

