Bookish Tag | The Grinch Book Tag

Let the festivities continue with The Grinch Book Tag 🎄

grinch

How The Grinch Stole Christmas is probably my favourite Christmas movie ever so I’m really excited to do this tag. I spotted this cheery tag on Emma from Em Does Book Reviews blog and it was originally created by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes.

 Half of the lights on the Christmas tree are burnt out Name a book/series/character that started out well and then went downhill.

divergent

Definitely Divergent by Veronica Roth. I really enjoyed the first book and its world-building, but I loathed the second book and I wasn’t really a fan of Tris either making it that much harder to actually enjoy this trilogy.

 Annoying relatives won’t leave you aloneName a book that you did not enjoy but everyone else seems to love, and it will not stop haunting you.

book-thief

Everyone loves The Book Thief but I just couldn’t connect with the characters or writing style making it really hard for me to get into the story. I really do want to read it, but the writing style just isn’t my cup of tea.

 Your pets keep knocking over your Christmas decorationsName a character that kept on messing everything up for everyone.

neville-longbottom

I wouldn’t say that Neville really messed up, but he did make some mistakes that made things more difficult for the golden trio and he unintentionally almost got Hermione killed in Order of the Phoenix.

 You hear your parents putting presents out and learn that Father Christmas is not realName a book you were spoiled for.

harry-potter-and-the-half-blood-prince

I got spoiled for Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince. I got told that one of my favourite characters in the series actually dies and I didn’t believe it until I read the book myself. Worst spoiler ever.

 It’s freezing outsideName a character you just couldn’t warm to.

the-selection

America from The Selection series. She had a really irritating voice as a character and I felt like she was just thinking about herself when she made some of the decisions she did. I just didn’t like her characterization and I don’t think we’ll ever see eye to eye.

 Mariah Carey’s ‘All I Want For Christmas Is You’ is being played a lot on the radio, giving you anti-romantic feelingsName a couple that you just could not stand.

Holding Up The Universe

It’s not that I couldn’t stand them but I felt like Jack and Libby from Holding Up The Universe would have been better off as just friends. Not everything has to turn into a romantic relationship and I really liked their friendship.

 Grandma has gotten run over by a reindeerName a character death that you are still mad about.

knife-of-never-letting-go*spoilers ahead*

I was so upset when Manchee got killed in The Knife of Never Letting GoI mean who decides it’s okay to kill a talking dog. That’s just wrong and it saddened me deeply.

 Shops are overcrowded with shoppers for the holidaysName a series with too many books, or that went on too long.

pretty-little-liars

The Pretty Little Lairs series had way too many books. The first couple of books was interesting, but then some things became a little bit far-fetched and hard to believe. Also it felt like it was dragging on forever.

 The GrinchName a main character that you absolutely hate (not a villain).

Winner's Curse

I wasn’t particularly fond of Kestrel from The Winner’s Curse. I found her character to be bland and lacking. She had some brainpower (that I liked) but I wanted her to be more of a badass.


I’m tagging the following wonderful bloggers to do this wonderful Christmassy tag 🎄

Heather from The Sassy Book Geek

Yasmin from Read Books and Drink Coffee

Anna from My Bookish Dream

Marie from Marie’s Library

Megan from Bookslayer Reads

Zoë from Escaping In Paper

Melissa from BooknerdMomo

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

24 thoughts on “Bookish Tag | The Grinch Book Tag

      1. I started the book and I made it through the first 100 pages but I got way too bored. I couldn’t even make it through the first 15 minutes in the movie because I was bored in it as well.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Thanks so much for the tag, Michelle! You actually just reminded me that I haven’t watched The Grinch this year. I need to get on that asap 😂. Also, that sucks about you being spoiled for a death in Harry Potter. I always hate when that happens and it recently happened to me with a book I was reading. I was so upset. Great answers! I enjoyed reading them. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you sooo much for tagging me! 🙂
    Oh, that Harry Potter spoiler is the worst!! A friend of mine spoiled the same thing for me, it was seriously the worst!
    I completely agree about Manchee!! It was soooo heartbreaking and I don’t think I’ll ever be over it! 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

