Seven (An Anthology) | Mini Review

*This is a spoiler-free review.

seven

 Book Title: Seven (An Anthology).

 Author: B.D. Harris.

 Series: Standalone.

 Page Count: 118 Pages.

 Genres: Middle Grade & Fantasy.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 stars.

*I kindly received a copy from Imagnary House for review, this has in no way affected my opinion. 

 Synopsis

These seven tales by B. D. Harris for children and adults alike are illustrated short stories that explore fatherhood and loss.
The featured tale in the anthology is ‘The Magician’, which is about a young boy whose magician-father dies, only to leave his magic behind. The young boy must do all he can to try and save the magic that his father left behind from the frightening Deafeners and Blinderers.


thoughts-2

Seven is a middle grade/children’s anthology that is filled with magical stories. All seven stories had a central theme – fatherhood and loss. With most middle grade novels, I always have this sense that I’m missing something. In Seven I felt like the central theme wasn’t always highlighted, but the stories were still lovely and something that I’d read to my kids one day.

The Magician’s Son was my favourite story out of the seven. It just had so much creativity and magic and the world that was created reminded me a little of a different kind of Wonderland. I really loved the little creature called Aloo – he was such a comfort in a very dark situation. I also felt like the theme of fatherhood and loss was represented the strongest in this story and I really think that it portrayed the authors message perfectly.

Another story that I really enjoyed was The Journey of the Littluns. It was yet another cute story featuring cute creatures and it also fit the central theme well. Fisherman, Grim and Horton’s Nowhere Train were also quite interesting reads, but unfortunately they were just too short – I would have loved a few more pages to each of them!

bear

I enjoyed the writing even if I sometimes felt that it was a tad bit too advanced for a children’s novel. I think that Harris has the ability to create a great full length story in the near future. I really liked the illustrations that was featured in Seven, I felt like they brought something magical to the story and they’ll definitely be a delight when reading these stories to kids.

I’ll definitely recommend this anthology to adults, parents and children that is looking for something that will bring them some closure in regards to fatherhood or loss.

michelle-2

 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

6 thoughts on “Seven (An Anthology) | Mini Review

  1. This anthology sounds perfect for some parents/kids time! 🙂 I think it might be difficult at time to balance stories for kids, especially with subjects like fatherhood and loss. That bear-er of dreams is adorable!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It has some magical elements, especially The Magician’s Son – I’m sure he’ll enjoy that one 😊 Other than that I think the book really makes you think (especially about the main theme of faterhood and loss) so if he hasn’t experienced some form of that, it might come across as being a little “dark” or confusing (it does talk about death & just general loss of parents, not in a direct way, but between the lines). If that is something he and you would be comfortable with, I’d say go for it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

