Cinder | Not Your Average Cinderella Story

*This is a spoiler-free review.

cinder

♡ Book Title: Cinder.

♡ Author: Marissa Meyer.

♡ Series: The Lunar Chronicles #1.

Page Count: 387 Pages (Paperback).

♡ Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Sci-Fi.

♡ Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 stars.

 Synopsis

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.


thoughts-2

I’m so happy I gave this book a second chance. Cinder was a fast-paced, fun and entertaining read that’s definitely nothing like your average Cinderella story and I loved it!

Cinder follows the awesome story of our main character Lihn Cinder – a badass cyborg and the best mechanic in New Beijing. When her path unexpectedly crosses with the Prince’s everything becomes a little bit more complicated, add in an unbearable and unfair stepmother along with a deadly disease and everything becomes a little bit too much.

This was definitely a different take on the classic Cinderella story, some of the classic elements were still present – there was an evil stepmom, two stepsisters, a charming prince and a magical ball. But the rest was just so different and new and unique. The world that Meyer created was so interesting and I can’t wait to read more about it. The plot line was interesting albeit a bit predictable, I could foretell the eventual ending of the story quite early into the story – but I still found it enjoyable.

Even in the Future the Story Begins with Once Upon a Time.

I really loved the characters especially Cinder. It was so refreshing to see a female character that didn’t need a man and was just fully independent. I also loved the whole mechanic aspect, it just brought something completely different to the story. Prince Kia was also a favourite, he was soft spoken and a little swoon worthy – perfect for a prince. But my favourite character was one that wasn’t even human and that was Iko the android. She was just the cutest character ever and I want my own little android now!

I’m just really so happy that I eventually finished this book and that I ended up enjoying it as much as I did. I really can’t wait to buy and binge read the other books in the series soon.

likeddisliked

 Liked:

  • The world-building; I really liked the dystopian take on New Beijing.
  • The fact that we got a badass, mechanic main character.
  • I really liked both main characters – Cinder and Kia, and I can’t wait to read more about them.
  • Iko just made this story so cute.

 Disliked Didn’t like as much:

  • I guessed some of the plot points early in the novel.

like-this

heartless

Definitely recommending this to fans of Marissa’s new novel Heartless as well as fans of retellings.

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

19 thoughts on “Cinder | Not Your Average Cinderella Story

  1. I’ve never read a book with cyborgs or androids so I think I’ll definitely have to give Cinder a read in the future. I was always hesitant but I love great world building and strong female characters. It sounds like an all around fantastic read. Great review as always, Michelle! ♥😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

