A Marvelous Mystery | The Da Vinci Code (Abridged Edition)

*This is a spoiler-free review.

da-vinci-code

♡ Book Title: The Da Vinci Code (Abridged Edition).

♡ Author: Dan Brown.

♡ Series: Robert Langdon #2.

♡ Page Count: 435 Pages (Paperback).

♡ Genres: Mystery, Young Adult & Fiction.

♡ Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 and a half stars.

*I kindly received a copy from Puffin Books via Penguin Random House South Africa for review, this has in no way affected my opinion.

 Synopsis:

If I die, the truth will be lost for ever . . . I must pass on the secret.

History professor Robert Langdon receives an urgent late-night phone call while on business in France: the curator of the Louvre in Paris has been brutally murdered inside the museum. Alongside the body, police have found a series of baffling codes and need Langdon’s help to decipher them.

When Langdon and a French cryptologist, Sophie Neveu, begin to sort through the bizarre riddles, they find a trail that leads to the works of the famous artist and inventor Leonardo Da Vinci. As the clues unfold, Langdon and Neveu must decipher the code and quickly assemble the pieces of the puzzle before a stunning historical truth is lost forever . . .


thoughts-2

I’ve always wanted to read The Da Vinci Code and I’ve tried multiple times over the years without much success. This was definitely not due to a lack of trying, but mostly due to the vivid descriptions of Silas’s self-harm. I don’t know what it is, but I could never read through those parts or even finish the movie due to this. So when the teen edition was announced I knew I wanted to give it another try.

The Da Vinci Code follows our main character Robert Langdon as he discovers and deciphers clues together with French cryptologist Sophie Neveu. These clues are suppose to lead them to a secret he has been researching for years – The Holy Grail. It is a wild chase with dangerous people close on their heels and many twists and turns in their way.

Everyone loves a conspiracy.

So this is the abridged edition which basically means that it is a shortened version of the original book. I’m not exactly sure how much they removed, but the parts of Silas’s self-harm was removed, so it made it so much easier for me to read and enjoy this book. I really loved the plot – it was mysterious, informative and definitely unputdownable. All the information and conspiracies had me thinking and I really loved everything that was “uncovered” in this book.

The plot had many twists and turns which I appreciated and I loved that it constantly had me on the edge of my seat. The book had a few pages of colour photos of some of the places and paintings mentioned in the book, and I thought this was a very thoughtful touch. It also served as a reference point when some of the details in the paintings were described.

Our main character of this series, Robert, was interesting. I loved that he was intelligent and had all this knowledge to share. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series featuring him as a main character. I also loved Sophie, it was enjoyable to have a smart and cunning female character in the mix as well.

Faith ― acceptance of which we imagine to be true, that which we cannot prove.

I really loved the mysterious feel to this novel along with all the clues that needed to be solved and I really can’t wait to read other titles in this series including Angles & Demons and The Lost Symbol.

likeddisliked

 Liked:

  • The mystery of it all.
  • I loved all the conspiracy theories, I was seriously so intrigued by everything.
  • I loved all the riddles and all the solutions to these riddles.
  • Robert was an interesting and knowledgeable character.
  • The Louvre sounded amazing through all the descriptions.
  • I was content with the epilogue and how the book ended.

like-this

angels-demons

definitely recommend this to all lovers of the mysterious and readers who love a good conspiracy theory.

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

9 thoughts on “A Marvelous Mystery | The Da Vinci Code (Abridged Edition)

  1. Brown gets a lot of grief, and I do understand why, but Da Vinci Code, Angels and Demons, and Inferno (his best novel, in my opinion) are certainly worth reading. (Lost Symbol was a mess, though). As you said, his work is intriguing. Is Dan Brown writing timeless literature? No. But he can certainly write an adventure that keeps you invested, and that’s definitely worth something. Thank you for sharing, great review!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great review! Didn’t know that an abridged version of it even existed. I don’t think it would’ve been my preferred edition to read it though, but when you mention that thing that stopped you from really completing the book, I totally understand! Glad that you were able to complete this story and enjoy it (I often hear people say they don’t like this series). I can’t wait to read this series myself! 😀

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much 🌸 It was originally advertised as the “teen edition” but then I found out it’s just an abridged edition 😊 I also really want to finish this series as I really enjoyed this book 🌸😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I absolutely loved this book! I’ve read all of Dan Browns books. The marriage of history and puzzles makes Robert Langdon one of my favorite characters I’ve probably ever read. I must say though Angels and Demons is my favorite by far. Great Review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

