Mini Review | Hello Me, It’s You (ARC)

*This is a spoiler-free review.

hello-me-its-you

♡ Book Title: Hello Me, It’s You.

♡ Author: Hannah Todd (Editor).

♡ Series: Standalone.

♡ Page Count: 110 Pages (Kindle Edition).

♡ Genres: Non-Fiction & Mental Health Awareness.

♡ Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 stars.

*I kindly received a copy from Netgalley for review, this has in no way affected my opinion. 

Hello Me, It’s You is a collection of letters by young adults aged 17-24 about their experiences with mental health issues. The letters are written to their 16-year-old selves, giving beautifully honest advice, insight and encouragement for all that lays ahead of them.

Trigger warning: Due to it’s nature, the content of this book may be triggering. Contains personal experiences of depression, anxiety, schizophrenia, trichotillomania and other mental health issues, as well as issues such as assault.


thoughts-2I really loved this collection of letters, it spoke to me on a personal level and I’m so grateful I got the opportunity to read it. The letters were raw, real, emotional and filled with so much wisdom and advise – they truly spoke to me on a deeper, more emotional level.

These are all letters from anonymous “authors” who’ve written letters to their 16-year-old selves. Most of these letters speak about how the person was diagnosed with a certain mental illness, but they’re also filled with hope and kind-hearted advice about how they all survived, saw a therapist and got better. I think it’s so beautiful that all these people place emphasize on the same thing – it will get better and you will be fine. It’s sometimes very hard for us to remember this, but it is true. I think it brings forth an important message that one should never be scared or ashamed to ask for help.

Talking about it all is okay, not wanting to talk about it is okay too, don’t feel guilty either way!

I think this collection is so different from your normal fiction books about mental illness because these’s are real experiences. It’s not a made up story. It’s not fiction, it’s real and it’s raw and it’s so emotionally deep that it’s just utterly brilliant.

I really think that this letter collection will speak to anyone who has suffered and is still suffering from a mental illness. It will give you hope and a sense of belonging.

Find happiness in the mundane.

likeddisliked Liked:

  • The fact that it looks into mental illness from a real and realistic point of view.
  • I loved that is was told in letter format, it made it really interesting to read.
  • It was great to see that every single author told their earlier selves that life does get better and if need be that they talk to someone.

like-this

the-opposite-of-loneliness

I definitely think this is a must read for everyone! This book will change your outlook on life and make you strangely happy.

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

*P.S: I just want to give a thanks to Donna from Chocolate n Waffles Blog who’s review of this book inspired me to request and read it. 

9 thoughts on “Mini Review | Hello Me, It’s You (ARC)

  1. I started this one a while back and have been slowly reading it, not because I don’t like it but because school is stealing my reading time haha. I’ve loved what I’ve read of it so far though and it really is such a raw, realistic, and powerful book. We definitely need more books like it. Great review as always, Michelle! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I had not seen your review!! Bad WP!! Thank you for the mention, that’s so sweet. I am really happy you enjoyed the book and it appears like it had the same effect on you. It’s fantastic to be reminded things get better, especially when it comes from people who have been there too. Hope is so difficult to hold on to when it’s all dark around. Fabulous and true review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

