Ramblings | Are we too lazy to read reviews or is it something else?

As a book blogger you have looked at your stats once or twice or a few times. You’ve analysed them to see what posts your readers like and which of those don’t gain as much traffic; upon doing so you might have realised that book reviews are some of the posts that don’t attract that many views/likes in comparison to some of your other posts. So this brings me to today’s discussion post topic – Are we too lazy to read reviews or is it something else? 

ramblingsAs I’ve just pointed out above; book reviews generally gain less views/visitors or likes as some of the more creative posts on your blog. This is not always the case, there are certain exceptions, like if it’s a really popular or hyped book/ARC that everyone has been dying to read and they want to know what you thought. But in general other posts definitely bring more awareness to your blog. So why is this? Are we as blogger just lazy to read reviews because they maybe aren’t that creative? Or is it maybe something else? Let’s discuss 

 I don’t think we’re lazy, I think that sometimes we might just not be intrigued.

Personally I wouldn’t refer to myself as lazy when it comes to not reading certain reviews. Sometimes when I start reading a review and I read the synopsis and I’m not particularly intrigued I might just skim the review or end up not actually reading it (scandalous, I know). Other times if I don’t recognize the book title I might end up skipping the review. We all have different interests and sometimes a certain book might not be interesting to us, hence why we don’t feel like reading the review.

 Disclaimer: These are things that I very rarely do, but it does happen and I’m sure there are other bloggers out there who also do this from time to time explaining why book reviews get less views.

 Readers are afraid of spoilers.

Spoilers are probably the number one thing that all readers dread stumbling upon. So if you mark your reviews as spoilery or indicate that it might contain spoilers, a lot of readers will avoid reading your review. Especially readers who have that particular book on their TBR or are even just considering reading that book in the future. I know that it might be hard to sometimes express your thoughts without including spoilers, but if you do so, then you need to also be prepared that less people will most likely read your review.

Even if you indicate that your reviews are spoiler-free some bloggers might still choose not to read your review. Some readers stay away from absolutely anything that has to do with a book that they are planning to read and they usually only read reviews after they have actually finished the book. Another thing might be that what you count as a non-spoiler, other readers might see as a spoiler, so for these reasons they will also not read your review before actually reading the book. I honestly feel like spoilers might be the main reason why readers choose to avoid reviews, I mean the risk of getting spoiled is high and no one likes to get spoiled.

 Books reviews aren’t that fun/creative.

Let’s admit it; book reviews aren’t the most fun or creative posts to write and sometimes they aren’t the most creative/fun posts to read. I think this definitely has an influence on book reviews not being the most popular posts. Sometimes I’m just in a mood to read something creative and fun, so I’ll read book tags and discussion posts first before going to book reviews. Sometimes I prefer not to read a book review because it’s not fun.

Do you feel that book reviews get less likes or views? Do you agree with the reasons for not reading reviews I’ve discussed? Do you sometimes skip reviews because you’re not intrigued or are you more afraid of spoilers? Let me know in the comments!

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

61 thoughts on “Ramblings | Are we too lazy to read reviews or is it something else?

  1. I must admit I think I’ve only read reviews of books I’ve already read / heard a lot about, which I suppose is kind of taking away from finding new books, but I use them for reference when I’m stuck writing a review of my own. I think rather than asking why less people are reading the reviews, we should be asking why people should read them in the first place?
    Book reviews are more or less the same thing, especially with writers who just extend a summary and call it a review, (which okay, I’ve been victim to). When we as writers offer two quick easy references for a reader to decide if they like the book or not (the synopsis and stars), there’s not much left to stay for, unless the writer has a really unique style.
    We can add things to our reviews, pictures/art make good pulls, but it doesn’t change the actual content of the review. I’m trying to add an excerpts section to my reviews for any lines that catch my eye, and that’s at least different reading content, but aside from that I’m stuck.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I usually also read reviews for books that I’ve heard of, but not if it contains spoilers and I still want to read the book at a later stage 😊 I understand what you say about not really being able to bring something to the review, but there are some people’s reviews that I always read because they’re my friends and I want to hear their thoughts on the book and whether it’s worth it to actually read it 😊 I also add quotes that have caught my eye to my review, just to make it that tad more creative!

      Like

  2. I literally just finished writing a discussion similar to this for Wednesday, asking if people read reviews of books they’ve not heard of 😆 Review are definitely the most overlooked posts. Personally I do read them, but if it’s a book I;ve not heard of an aren’t particularly interested in, I’ll do a quick skim read instead to get the gist and then leave a like. It’s not out of laziness, like you said it’s just differing interests really. I make all my reviews spoiler-free so anyone can read them if they wish, and I write how I talk/think just so that there’s crossings out/self scoldings/random comments everywhere to try and make it that little bit more creative or interesting to read. It’s definitely hard though!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Great minds 😉 Can’t wait to read your post! Same, I usually also skim and leave a like if I liked what I read. There are some bloggers reviews that I always, always like because we’ve become friends 😊 My reviews are also always spoiler free, but I know some people still prefer to only read the review once they’ve actually read the book. I’ve read your reviews and they’re definitely entertaining and creative 😊💞

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s true, even without spoilers some people are cautious. I think it’s because just from getting a general feel of it, you might be able to guess what happens at some point in the book. Plus there’s sometimes blurred lines between what one person thinks is a spoiler to another.
        And thank you! That’s nice to hear 🙂 x

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I often skip reviews of people I don’t know well. I had a blogger who almost ruined the entire plot Harry Potter and the Cursed Child for me, and after that, I’ve only read reviews for books I want to read from my friends and people I trust their opinion.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh no! Spoilers are the worst and not putting a warning is even worse! Sometimes it’s hard choosing whether to actually read reviews! But there are blogger’s reviews that I will almost always read, because I know what to expect and I like reading their thoughts or opinions 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. When I wrote my review on HP and the Cursed Child, I tried to be as vague as possible and to not reveal too much information about the plot. You should check it out sometime (maybe after you’ve read the book, if you’re still scared it might be ruined for you.)

        Liked by 2 people

  4. I like to read reviews because I love a good book recommendation, so I read about books I’ve never heard of before and also after I’ve read a book because I want to see if this blogger shared the same opinion as me. If the blurb of a new book doesn’t intrigue me much I will perhaps not read it as attentively but even if the book is nothing for me, the review can be a very entertaining experience.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. When the synopsis doesn’t intrigue me, I’ll usually just skim the review getting the feel for it, because reviews can most definitely be entertaining 😊 And I must admit that I have stumbled upon some great new books through reviews! Reviews aren’t all bad, I just know that they are posts that normally get ignored 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I tend to skip reviews of books that don’t interest me. It’s probably not the nicest thing to do but it’s just how I am. I try not to let me stats bother me too much, as blogging shouldn’t be all about that, but more about just having fun and sharing something that you love with others! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally agree with the whole stats thing, I blog for myself and to have fun 😊 But I know that people have said that book reviews do earn the least amount of views. I’m sure other people also skip reviews if it doesn’t interest them, I know I am guilty of doing this sometimes 🙈😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I like to read reviews but like you said if the reviewer says there are spoilers included I skip it if it is a book I plan to eventually read. There is one other reason that I kind of skip over reviews as well and that is the length of the review When I am reading a review I want them t basically be short and to the point. I mean like a few paragraphs or so. I have been reading a review and it is so long that I just start thinking is this ever going to end and then I just completely lose interest.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally agree with the spoilers, I also tend to skip these kind of reviews if I plan on reading the book 😊 I do agree that the length of the review can also play a role in whether I read it in detail or just basically skim it.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Love this post! I was just thinking on this. I actuslly read everything, but that is why I spend hours a day hopping. It can be overwhelming. I do think maybe it is partly due to spoilers or even lack of interest in the book reviewed?

    I think book tags, etc. can generate more views as mentioned, out of curiosity. Like we like know more of each other and they break up what maybe feels monotonous to some? 🤔☺

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Totally agree, I do think that book reviews can become monotonous, but I do think that you can find new and interesting novels through reviews as well 😊 It’s all about personal preferences on whether you actually want to read it, but I think that spoilers definitely also plays a major role. I love to learn more about my fellow bloggers, so definitely think that’s why tags get more attention 😊

      Like

  8. Honestly, I associate the word “laziness” with tasks one is supposed to be doing or tasks it would be good for one to do. One is “too lazy” to do homework, clean the dishes, or go to the gym to exercise. I don’t think anyone is under any obligation to read reviews, so I’m not sure what the connection to laziness would be. I think you’re onto something when you point out people don’t read review due to lack of interest in the content: they don’t care about the book, they’ve read 20 reviews already and have an opinion, they don’t want spoilers, etc. I do like reading reviews, but I certainly don’t read every single one that other bloggers write.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I also like to read my fair shair if reviews, but like you’ve pointed out there are numerous reasons why others might not be interested in reading said reviews 😊 I also agree that I hardly ever read everyone’s reviews, mostly due to the fact that I’m not interested/don’t have an opinion on the content.

      Like

    1. Totally agree, spoilers are the worst! And like I’ve said; what counts as a non-spoiler to me, might be a spoiler to you – it’s hard! If it’s a book I’m really excited about reading, I might hold off on the reviews until I’ve actually finished the book 😊

      Like

  9. I feel like reviews don’t get as many views if they aren’t the popular/current books that everyone wants to read. I personally love reading reviews, and writing them, but I get not wanting to read any spoilers, too. I generally do spoiler-free reviews, or if there are spoilers, I put them in a little separate section.
    I’ll definitely read a review if I’ve read the book though, because — as I have no one to discuss books with at home — I love to discuss it with them!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I always love reading reviews of books I’ve already read, because I love hearing people’s thoughts and if we loved/hated the same thing 😊 Totally agree that popular/hyped books definitely get more views, which is understandable, but it would be encouraging if other books reviews got the same amount of attention. I believe if you include spoilers in your review, it’s just proper etiquette and good manners to mark them as such 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly, that’s why I mark them, but some don’t, or accidentally give spoilers. I think that all books should be given the same amount of attention, and that’s why I read all the reviews on my reader : )

        Liked by 1 person

  10. I think they do generally get less views/likes and I think it’s because the people who read it are the targeted audience. So, if someone puts up a review about a crime story I am less likely to be interested in reading it. In saying that I try and read all the reviews that are posted because someone put a lot of time and effort into their review 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Same! I do try and read almost all the reviews that show up on my reader, but sometimes I’ll just skim the ones I’m not particularly interested in, just to get a feel for it 🌸 And if I liked the review (even just from skimming) I’ll always leave a like, because like you’ve said; a lot of time and effort does go into it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  11. IMO writing book reviews is interesting, yet it can get boring. I’ll try to think of something catchy to keep my readers interest. If it’s a post going from point A to point Z I think it just bores us while we read it or maybe we’d rather read the book and figure out the story ofr ourselves. Yeah that is probably it.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. I haven’t paid any attention that. But you raise a good point. My reviews are so spoiler free I feel like I’m not giving the readers anything to go off of because I’m so vague. So far my readers have liked what I’m doing with making an extra effort towards not including spoilers. That’s a big reason why I don’t read some people’s reviews, especially if they state clearly that their are spoilers (which I appreciate). I have seen some blogger talk about the book in a non spoiler way and then divulge into the details (spoilers) after stating not to read further, which is a good idea if you can’t review a book without talking about certain things. But there are a few bloggers that I’ve become comfortable with reading their reviews because I know they don’t include spoilers.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I also have a few blogs that I’m comfortable with in terms of reviews and their review style 😊 My reviews are spoiler free, but sometimes for really hyped books or if there’s something that happened that changed my rating, I’ll include a spoiler, but I’ll always, always warn readers. I just think that’s the right thing to do 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I’ve definitely noticed a trend in my posts that reviews get less attention than anything else. Which makes me sad because I made my blog to talk about books that I’m reading.
    I try my best to read as many book reviews as I can. Sometimes I’ll skip reviews that deal with later books in a series I’m interested in, just because I don’t want to ruin the earlier books, and I know it’s hard to not include spoilers for the first book when talking about the third or something. I also find I skip reviews of books I’ve never heard of, though I’m working on this. It is easier to comment on a review of a book I’ve already read or that I want to read, though, rather than one I’ve never heard of.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree that it is sad, because this is why I started a book blog – to communicate with people about books! I will also skip reviews for later books in a series, because it is hard not to spoil events that occured in the previous books 😊 I try to read as many reviews as I can (hyped/non-hyped books) but sometimes I’m really not interested and I might end up skipping that review 🙈

      Liked by 1 person

  14. I was recently talking about this exact thing with a few other bloggers and we all seemed to agree that sometimes we’re either not interested in the book or are worried about spoilers. For me, I tend to gravitate to those bloggers I know won’t spoil a book for me when it comes to reviews for books I’m really excited for. I’ve had instances where I’ve run into spoilers in a review where the blogger didn’t mark it as having spoilers so I guess that’s why I do that now. That and I tend to not read reviews for sequels until I’ve read the book myself even if I have read the first book. Aside from all of that I actually tend to enjoy reading book reviews just because I love seeing the different opinions. Great discussion, Michelle! 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you 🌸 Spoilers definitely plays a big role, I also have a few trusted blogs who’s reviews I’ll always read as I’ve come to know what to expect! Yes, definitely skip reviews for a second/third book in a series because spoilers! Overall I must agree that reviews can be fun and you can definitely get great book recommendations from them 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  15. I don’t always read reviews. Sometimes I can tell just from the title of the book and the cover that it isn’t for me.
    But then other times I’ll read a review and discover a new book or author, which is great!
    I also don’t like to read reviews for books that I know I will be reading soon (like in the next couple of weeks) or for books I’m currently reading or just finished & my review hasn’t posted yet. I don’t want others opinions to influence my own, so I try to be real careful on what reviews I read & when!
    I am far more likely to read a review on a book I’ve already read – especially if it’s a book that others aren’t blogging about. I get weary of reading the same reviews on popular books all the time.
    Great discussion post!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much 🌸 I also tend to steer clear of reviews for a book I’m currently reading as I don’t want anything to be given away! Then I’m also more fond of reading reviews of books that I’ve already read just to hear what other people thought. But reviews are great for discovery new books and genres 🌸😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are so right about spoilers – I’ve had that happen a few times where the review spelled everything out without any warning! Very frustrating!
        I love it when I read a review that makes me want to read the book!

        Liked by 1 person

  16. Amazing discussion post! And totally agree with you here 😂 I think like anyother medium, to grab people’s attention you need more than black and white words. Maybe that’s why bookish posts attract more people because it’s fun and it goes out the usual review layout type – Trang

    Liked by 2 people

  17. I actually find the opposite – my book reviews tend to be some of the most popular (although the stats aren’t quite as good as challenge/hauls sometimes) – I think it depends on the format of the review. Personally, if I see a bulk of images or GIFs instead of some clearly set out reviewing points, I’m going to skip it. This has reminded me though, I need to start emphasising that my reviews are non-spoilery.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Then you must be doing something right 😊 Must agree that an overuse of gifs/images don’t always go that well with a book review, depending on the type of book being reviewed. Yes, I think it’s a good idea to ensure people that your reviews are actually not filled with spoilers 😊🌸

      Like

  18. wonderful discussion post, something I think about often. I definitely find myself not reading tons of reviews unless the book looks interesting to me, it’s spoiler free or if I know I want to read a book. If it doesn’t say spoiler free then I try to avoid, i’ve had people ruin too many books for me EVEN GOODREADS STATUS UPDATES WITH A BIG PLOT POINT? I MEAN COME ON (calm hannah, calm. don’t relive it)

    I do love reviews though, I like hearing other peoples thoughts. I think your points definitely 100% are accurate!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🌸 I also love to read other people’s thoughts on reviews, it’s always interesting and you can get great recommendations through reviews 😊 I hate when people post spoilers without a warning!

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Great post Michelle! I agree that reviews are some of the least popular posts which really doesn’t make sense to me since we are all book bloggers and reviews are a big part of what we do. I know that if I click into a review I read it and maybe even skim it at some point but I never just comment or like it without read the actual review. If I see a review that isn’t for something I’m familiar with sometimes I’ll skip it if it looks like a book I might not like, which is fine because as you said we all have different tastes.
    The only other time I’ll skip reading a review is if it has spoilers or if it’s for a book in a series I haven’t finished because obviously there’s spoilers in the description alone. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much 🌸 Yeah, I mean the reason we have blogs are to essentially share bookish thoughts with one another, so I don’t always understand it either! Definitely agree about skipping reviews that contain spoilers or of it’s the next book in a series 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  20. Things that make me want to read a review:
    1. It’s for a book that I’ve already read before, and I’d love another reader’s perspective. I’m also more likely to leave a long-winded comment
    2. The review was written by one of my very favorite bloggers. Maybe their voice and writing style is particularly engaging. Maybe it’s just a habit because I’ve followed them for 5+ years. Who knows.
    3. The blogger creates an intriguing title. I rarely click on blog titles that are written like this: “Book Review: Title of Book by Author”. It’s not eye catching at all!

    Then again, if I start reading a synopsis and find out that it’s for a genre I do not like at all, not even a favorite blogger or catchy title can hold my attention. Also, if it’s a title that’s blowing up my feed reader, I tend to run the other direction. Anyway, what I’m saying is, I’m still a reader of book reviews, and it’s a good thing too because I’d overlook so many books if I didn’t read the reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I still read book reviews too and I totally agree with all the points you’ve made 🌸
      1. I love, love to read other readers perspectives on either a book I really liked or loathed. It’s fun to be able to talk about the book and discuss it a little bit.
      2. I also have a few favourite bloggers whose reviews I always read because I love their inputs and views.
      3. Totally get what you’re saying, I always try and be as creative as I can when it comes to blog titles for book reviews – I want it to grab people’s attention 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

