A Hopeful Novel | This Raging Light (ARC)

*This is a spoiler-free review.

this-raging-light

 Book Title: This Raging Light.

 Author: Estelle Laure.

 Series: This Raging Light #1.

  Page Count: 312 Pages (Paperback).

♡ Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary and Romance.

♡ Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 stars.

* I kindly received a copy from Pan Macmillan South Africa for review, this has in no way affected my opinion.     

How is it that one day Digby was my best friend’s cute twin brother, and then the next he stole air, gave jitters, twisted my insides up?

And with Mom gone, bills to pay and Wren to look after… Why does the best thing happen at the worst time?


thoughts-2

This book is filled with hope, friendship and love, but also with despair and abandonment. I don’t know if it was the lateness of the hour, but this book tugged at my heartstrings and it made me appreciate the message and plot so much more.

This Raging Light follows our main character – Lucille as she tries to survive and cope with life after her mom just upped and left. This happened after her dad went psycho crazy and had a breakdown. Suddenly she has to pay bills, find a job and look after her little sister. But with an awesome support system and two good friends, things might actually work out in the end.

My whole chest is an ache.

This book really is filled with so much sadness. Lucille gets abandoned by both her parents, leaving her all alone to fend for herself and her sister. I thought that the abandonment trope was well executed and it really set the tone for the rest of the novel. The writing style was a bit too flowery at times, I felt like the prose was too lyrical which made it hard to understand what was being said sometimes.

I loved the way family dynamics were incorporated in this novel – On the one side we have Lucille’s broken family, and on the other side we have Eden and Digby’s perfect family. I loved this contrast in family dynamics and the fact that we get to see both sides at the same time. Family dynamics are crucial in YA novels and to have a representation of both extremes is wonderful and refreshing.

The friendship between Lucille and her best friend Eden was so confusing and conflicted. In the beginning they had a really great friendship, but there was loads of things that happened that threatened this. I also thought that Eden could have been a little bit more supportive during this crazy situation that Lucille found herself in. I’m still unsure about how I feel about the romance in the novel. It was cute and flirty and a little cheesy, but there was some decisions in regards to this that I just didn’t agree with.

I really have such respect for Lucille’s character. She was really an emotionally strong character to have been able to handle everything that was being thrown at her, and I admire that quality in main characters. Wren was the little light at the end of the tunnel. Always happy and looking for something positive to brighten up serious situations.

One beautiful thing a day.

The ending was not satisfactory at all! I still have so many questions that was left unanswered and I thought it could have definitely done with an extra chapter or three in order to wrap it up cleanly.

likeddisliked Liked:

  • The inclusion of great family dynamics.
  • The tropes that were discussed and handled, especially the one of abandonment.
  • Lucille’s strong personality traits.
  • Wren’s positive attitude and outlook on everything.
  • Digby and all the neighbours undying love and support.

 Disliked:

  • The writing was too hard to grasp at times.
  • Lots of the story lines weren’t fully explained.
  • The ending was abrupt and I wanted more chapters to tie it all together.

like-this

ill-give-you-te-sun

Overall it was a fast, entertaining read that I’m definitely recommending to lovers of all things contemporary.

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

12 thoughts on “A Hopeful Novel | This Raging Light (ARC)

  1. What a great review! I love that this story deals with family with a strong contrast, especially when I hear so many people complain about how families are often portrayed the same way in YA. It might be a little too sad for me though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This one has been on my TBR for a while and I’m not sure why I still haven’t gotten around it. It’s great to hear that it deals with two different types of family dynamics but it sucks that the ending wasn’t as strong as you were hoping. I’m usually not one for endings that leave a ton of questions. I might still give it a chance one of these days though because you’ve made me curious about it haha. Great review, Michelle! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much 💞 After extensive research I have found out that there’s actually some kind of follow-up/sequel that’s being released next year, so hopefully that clears things up a bit 😊 I’m a total sucker for good family dynamics in books!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome! 💕
        It’s good to hear there there’s going to be a sequel. I bet it will definitely clear up a lot of the questions the first one left. 😊
        Same! Books with good family dynamics always end up being some of my favorite contemporaries.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

