Tips & Tricks | How To Utilize Your Reading Time

We’re all busy and more often than not reading gets pushed to the back burner simply because we don’t have time. I hope you can learn something from these tips & tricks in regards to reading 

tips-tricksI’m a busy person. I’m a full-time student (with an 80% average), I have a part-time job, I’m busy with my thesis and in the middle of my exams and I manage this blog and I still make time to read. So I thought I would share some tips & tricks that I use in my everyday life to better utilize my reading time, some of these might work for you and some of them won’t. I just thought I’d share my routine with you guys in the hopes that it might help you to better utilize your reading time.

 I read more than one book at a time, but in different formats.

So I know that loads of bookworms already read more than one book at a time. So at most given times I have three books on the go. I usually read a print copy during the day, this is also the book that I take with me everywhere I go. Then I usually have my e-book that I read at night in bed when I’m all snuggled in. Then sometimes I’ll add an audio book into the mix, to read when I can’t actually use my hands to read.

 I try and set aside an hour for reading in the evening.

I know this isn’t always possible and that sometimes other responsibilities need to come first, but I try to go to bed an hour earlier so I can utilize that hour for reading in bed. It doesn’t always work out, sometimes I fall asleep and sometimes I just get distracted by social media, but at least I try.

 I read at every opportunity I get.

So I literally take a book with me wherever I go, meaning that I can read at every free opportunity I might get. Whether I’m waiting for a friend when going for coffee or waiting for my class to start, I always have a book and can therefore squeeze in 5 minutes of reading time. At the end of the day those 5 minutes really count up and you can really end up squeezing in 30 minutes to an hours extra reading time.

 Learn to multi-task.

So this doesn’t exactly come naturally to most people, most people can’t read with noise as it often distracts them. I have learned to basically read in most circumstances. So I usually read while watching my TV shows and I can concentrate on both without getting lost. I also usually read while eating, I mean it’s another opportunity to get in some much needed reading time.

I’m not saying that these tips & tricks will work for every reader, but these work for me to get the best out of my reading time. I hope that I could have inspired some of you to better utilize your reading time.

Do you have any other tips to utilize your reading time? Do you use some of these tricks already? Have you learned something new that you might try in the future? Let me know in the comments!

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

21 thoughts on “Tips & Tricks | How To Utilize Your Reading Time

  1. I am also a “multi-reader” and like to do this in multiple formats. I usually have a physical copy I read during the day, and then an ebook for travel and at night. I am not as good at reading and watching television though. It has to be one or the other. I miss too much 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are great tips 😊! I haven’t mastered the ability to read more than one book at a time but I love your idea of reading different formats. I’ve also heard that some read multiple books at once but do different genres, which is something I think I might try. I definitely do the reading at every opportunity. I work online and it’s timed so while I’m waiting for my timer to run out I usually read for a few minutes 😂.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much 😊 It can be daunting at first and I thought I’d never be able to do it, but reading different genres definitely helps. That way you can’t really get as confused 😊 I think most bookworms try and squeeze in an extra 5 minutes here and there 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting topic! I personally find it hard to read in the middle of busy schedule, mostly not even because I don’t have the time, but because I feel guilty reading when I have other more pressing things to do :’) when I was working on my thesis (which was 4 months ago) I always use reading as a reward every time I finished revising my thesis draft, therefore I didn’t feel guilty because I’d done my work 😛 I save my paperbacks for home-reading and instead I bring my ipad everywhere because it’s more practical for me. I usually read ebooks during my train ride, it’s an hour of commute and I managed to finish a lot of books that way 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊 Haha, I also use reading as a reward sometimes, it keeps me motivated. Other times I just use it as relaxation after a particularly busy day! I’d love to be able to read on my commute, it sounds like the perfect opportunity to get lots of reading done 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Fantastic post!! I agree with all your points! Particularly reading in different formats- I’ve just started listening to books in audio form, which also helps me to multitask! But I definitely take a book everywhere I go! I’m not always able to read before bed, sadly :/ but at least I can always count on reading on the go! (unless of course the tube is so packed that I have my face pressed up against the door, which happens)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

