Bookish Tag | The Great British Bake-Off Tag

On your marks. Get Set. Bake 🍰

gbbo

absolutely adore The Great British Bake-Off. It’s just such a fun concept and everybody is so loving and Mel & Sue are just the best! So when I spotted this tag, I knew I just had to do it 🍰

I spotted this on Jack’s Booktube Channel – Reading With Jack and he is also the original creator of this delightfully scrumptious tag!

 Cake – The cake has sunk in the middle. Pick a book that didn’t rise to your expectations.

cinder

The hype surrounding Cinder by Marissa Meyer was enormous. I tried reading it, but I just couldn’t get into it. I didn’t like the whole retelling idea and it just felt foreign to me. I am however reading Heartless at the moment and I’m enjoying Meyer’s writing, so maybe I should just give it another shot.


 Biscuits – Once you’ve eaten one, you’re hungry for more and each time you eat another, they get more and more delicious. Pick a book series or trilogy that got progressively better.

dimily

I think this is a very under-hyped series and I don’t understand why. These books are amazing and the plot is just so good. They’re just such feel good novels, but they still managed to address some serious issues at the same time. I loved every single book in this series and it definitely just go better and better.


 Bread– Kneading dough requires hard work and determination. Pick a book that you put off reading for ages and needed a lot of determination to pick up.

City of Bones

Definitely City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. The Mortal Instruments series had a ton of hype surrounding it and I was scared that the series would not live up to my expectations. I am happy to say that I really enjoyed the first book and cannot wait to complete the entire series.


 Desserts – Foreign deserts such as crème brûlée and Spanische Windtorte are on the menu. Pick a book set in a foreign country.

the-bone-sparrow

The Bone Sparrow takes place in Australia, which is foreign to me not ever even having left South Africa. I chose this book because I think it’s something that everyone should read, the prose and the message received is just lovely.


 Alternative Ingredients – Not usually used, but surprisingly good. Pick a book from a genre you wouldn’t normally read but ended up loving.

Between Shades of Gray

I’m not usually one for Historical Fiction, but Between Shades of Gray was such a poignant, heart-breaking novel and I loved reading it.


 Pastry – Shortcrust pastry can crumble easily. Pick a character who you initially liked, but as you read more and more, your relationship with them crumbled apart.

divergent

I liked Tris in the beginning of Divergent, but then she just started making really stupid decisions the further along the series went. In the end I just didn’t like her that much anymore.


 Victorian/Old-Fashioned Cakes – Recipes from the past that still taste delicious today. Pick your favourite classic novel.

emma

I’ve never actually read a classic – shameful, I know. I’d love to get started though, maybe I’ll start with something like Pride & Predujice or Emma.


♡ Patissiere – You’re eating a chocolate éclair but there’s barely any filling inside. Pick a book that lacked substance and fell flat.

hundred-lies

I’m just gonna go with my latest disappointing read and that was The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett. I just don’t know how to describes this book and the reasons it fell flat for me without giving away spoilers.


 Chocolate – Chocolate is a comfort food for many people. Pick a book you could read again and again and still find comforting.

harry-potter

Definitely Harry Potter, there is nothing quite as comforting as re-reading the first book (or any of the books) in this wonderful series.


♡ The Grand Final – Everyone is out to impress with extravagant show-stoppers! Pick your favourite book of the year so far that really impressed you.

 the-raven-boys

This was such a hard choice, but I’ve decided to go with The Raven Boys. I really though the plot along with the characters were totally unique. The writing was lyrical and it was honestly like nothing else I’ve read before.


And for this yummy tag I’m tagging:

Donna @ Chocolate n Waffles Blog

Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek

Louise @ Genie Reads

Ariana @ The Quirky Booknerd

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

8 thoughts on “Bookish Tag | The Great British Bake-Off Tag

  1. Great Post! I totally agree with Cinder, their was so much hype so I thought wow this will be amazing but I really struggled with it. I finished it but I have not picked up the series any further from their, i’m not keen on the whole cyborg thing.

    Like

  2. Ahhh Tris, yep I know exactly what you mean. I think she just deliberately did stupid stuff so she could fight with Four. For a classic I would recommend Pride and Prejudice or Jane Eyre. I wasn’t fond of Emma, but then you might like it 🙂 Awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve just added the Bone Sparrow to my tbr as it seems to be such an interesting and eye-opening read!
    As for Tris, I’ve never read the Divergent trilogy but the character in the film adaptation just put me off. I don’t think I’m ever going to get around to reading that trilogy now as there as so many books I’d rather read now! 🙂
    Love your blog by the way! I’m also thinking about doing this tag! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much 😊 Bone Sparrow is such an enlightening read, I hope you enjoy it 😊 In my opinion, the trilogy isn’t really worth the read, the movies are really so much better!

      Like

Leave a Reply

