A Little Bit Of A Mess | The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett (ARC)

*This is a spoiler-free review.

hundred-lies

 Book Title: The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett.

 Author: Chelsea Sedoti.

 Series: Standalone.

 Page Count: 400 Pages (Kindle Edition).

 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary & Romance.

 Rating: 🌟🌟 stars.

*I received a copy from Sourcebooks Fire for review, this has in no way affected my opinion. 

Hawthorn wasn’t trying to insert herself into a missing person’s investigation. Or maybe she was. But that’s only because Lizzie Lovett’s disappearance is the one fascinating mystery their sleepy town has ever had. Bad things don’t happen to popular girls like Lizzie Lovett, and Hawthorn is convinced she’ll turn up at any moment-which means the time for speculation is now.

So Hawthorn comes up with her own theory for Lizzie’s disappearance.  A theory way too absurd to take seriously…at first. The more Hawthorn talks, the more she believes. And what better way to collect evidence than to immerse herself in Lizzie’s life? Like getting a job at the diner where Lizzie worked and hanging out with Lizzie’s boyfriend. After all, it’s not as if he killed her-or did he?

Told with a unique voice that is both hilarious and heart-wrenching, Hawthorn’s quest for proof may uncover the greatest truth is within herself.


thoughts-2

I’m seriously so conflicted by this book. I know I didn’t particularly like it or find it enjoyable, but I didn’t hate it that much either. There are definitely some issues and other things that affected my rating, but overall it was seriously just a mish-mash of things.

This story essentially follows Hawthorn who’s a bit of an outcast/loser at school. She gets obsessed with Lizzie’s disappearance and comes up with all these ridiculous theories of why Lizzie disappeared and the only person that believes them is Lizzie’s ex-boyfriend and suspected killer – Enzo. So that is how she ends up basically living Lizzie’s double life and how everything just goes downhill from there.

The plot of this story is all over the place. After I’ve read the end, I know what message the author was trying to portray, but she took the widest and longest, most tricky road to get there and the end destination wasn’t worth it. I honestly just don’t know if this was the best way to get the message across, the theories of Lizzie’s disappearance was all a bit childish, but the message being sent is so grown up and grave in a sense. I just don’t know where this was suppose to go! The writing however has loads of potential as there was some beautiful prose scattered around.

I knew all about reading a lot. About how it could take you to a world that was better than the real one. A world where there were adventures and mysteries and magic. 

To me, Hawthorns voice was not unique. I unfortunately found it a little bit whiny, I get that she was an outcast and she had limited friends, but the whiny-ness was just too much. As for Enzo, he was really creepy and I really don’t understand how the author thought it was okay for them to get involved in a “romantic” way – I found it very unappealing and a little gross. I really liked the Hippies even though I don’t really know what their purpose was, the same with Mychelle – it was like she was just part of the story because every high school needs to have a bitch. She didn’t really serve any purpose.

I understand that the ultimate message of the book was for Hawthorn to believe in herself, to believe that she is good enough, but I didn’t agree with one of the practices that was used in trying to achieve this (I’ll discuss this in a spoiler section, because I have to talk about it). I think the author tries really hard to bring across a certain message, but unfortunately it didn’t hit home for me.

likeddisliked Liked:

  • The writing has definite potential and I’m looking forward to what the author releases next.
  • I liked some of the secondary characters such as the Hippies and Conrad.
  • The cover is really beautiful, definite cover buy!

 Disliked:

  • There was no cohesion, everything was just a mish-mash.
  • There was no substantial plot.
  • I didn’t like the theories that Hawthorn had, they didn’t fit with the plot and they had me rolling my eyes – a lot!
  • I didn’t connect with Hawthorn, at all!
  • I thought the relationship between Hawtorn and Enzo was way creepy. 
  • I don’t agree with how some of the things were portrayed (see spoilers at the end).

spoilers*Skip to the next section if you don’t want to be spoiled.

Okay, so in the end we find out that Lizzie committed suicide, which I expected from the start. I had a problem with the fact that Lizzie’s suicide was almost just mentioned in passing and what I had an even bigger problem with was the fact that Hawthorn couldn’t believe that Lizzie committed suicide because she was perfect. She was popular and had friends etc. Suicide does not just happen to people that are lonely or have no friends, suicide and depression can literally happen to anyone. I don’t know, it just really made me mad that it wasn’t used to educate readers, instead we were just constantly told that Lizzie couldn’t have committed suicide because she was happy and pretty and everyone loved her, that is NOT how suicide works. So I just didn’t agree about how suicide was used and portrayed in the novel.

like-thislooking-for-alaska

I think this is either a love it or hate it book. I unfortunately won’t be recommending this to very many people.

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

14 thoughts on “A Little Bit Of A Mess | The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett (ARC)

  1. It sounds like a complicated book to review! Too bad the author chose the wrong way to send her message. With no plots and a whiny character, I would not give it a try :-/ I need at least one of the two being strong so I can try to connect with the story! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s loads of mismatched opinions on Goodreads though, it either gets a 5 star or a 1 star rating. So I think you’re either going to love it or hate it. I hope it’s not too bad for you 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve seen a lot of mixed reviews for this one – mostly on the negative end up of the spectrum. Definitely sounds like something I wouldn’t like. It sucks when an author sets out to convey an important message and it just isn’t done the right way. Great review though! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

