A Great Diverse Contemporary | The Sun Is Also A Star (ARC)

*This is a spoiler-free review.

the-sun-is-also-a-star

 Book Title: The Sun Is Also A Star.

 Author: Nicola Yoon.

 Series: Standalone.

 Page Count: 384 Pages (Kindle ARC Edition).

 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary & Romance.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 stars.

* I received a copy from Penguin Random House UK via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?


thoughts-2

I was pretty skeptical before starting this, I was not the biggest fan of Yoon’s debut novel Everything, Everything. I was skeptical about what I would find inside The Sun is Also a Star, but I am happy to say that this novel made me feel happy and rich in ways that Everything, Everything did not.

We are born to dream and make things we dream about.

The entire story takes place in the space of one day, a day neither of our main characters are particularly excited about. Natasha because she is getting deported back to her home country, Jamaica, and Daniel because he has an interview with Yale for a pre-med program he has no desire in joining. But then Daniel meets Natasha, through fate, or so he believes and their inevitable love story starts from there.

I firstly have to speak about the diversity in this novel. I loved the fact that Yoon incorporated diverse characters, but what I loved even more is that we were not constantly reminded that they were diverse. The diversity in this book was at just the right level, the reader is aware that the characters are diverse without it being constantly dangled in front of their face and that is how diversity in books should be.

Moving on to the story, it was your basic boy meets girl and falls in love scenario, but better. I think it was better in a sense that Daniel was such a dreamer and Natasha was such a realist, the fact that she didn’t immediately swoon into his arms made me like the romance just that tad bit more. The writing was beautiful and everything had some kind of truth to it – the book and the message it was sending was real and I really liked that.

Daniel was my ultimate favourite character, maybe because he was a dreamer and he didn’t take everything seriously or maybe just the fact that he was a hopeless romantic. But I loved his character – he was so romantic and a true gentleman and he just wanted the best for this girl he barely knew. Natasha was a bit more of a serious character. She didn’t believe in fate and she was more of a facts persons. She wasn’t a bad character and she did undergo some character growth (they both did) but I personally identified more with Daniel. Although the family dynamics were flawed for both our main characters I enjoyed the fact that Yoon incorporated them into the plot. Family is an important aspect in YA novels.

Touching him is order and chaos, like being assembled and disassembled at the same time.

There is a reason I can unfortunately not give this book a full five star rating, and that is because of the ending. The ending can be described in one word – anticlimactic. Okay so the ending was a little bit happy and a little bit sad, but the true, true ending. The last few lines of the book was truly just anticlimactic. 

This book is still far above Everything, Everything and I’m so happy that I gave it a go. It truly made my heart happy. 

likeddisliked Liked:

  • The characters were both really great.
  • The diversity in this book was amazing and exactly how diversity should be.
  • The story line was heart – warming.
  • I really liked the writing.

 Disliked:

  • The ending was a little bit anticlimactic and I wanted it to go more into depth and make it the perfect ending.

like-this                                         Holding Up The Universe everything-everything

The Sun is Also a Star is definitely a contemporary I’d like to recommend to everyone, especially those who are suckers for a good romance and those who love diverse books.

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

*The Sun is Also a Star will be available from 1 November 2016.

5 thoughts on “A Great Diverse Contemporary | The Sun Is Also A Star (ARC)

  1. Great review! I wasn’t particularly interested in this book, but maybe I’ll pick it up eventually. I like the idea that the book takes place in the course of a single day; too bad the ending doesn’t hold its weight. Hurray for diversity handled well, though! =)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

