Did I Mention I Miss You (ARC) | Perfect Conclusion To A Great Series

*This is a spoiler-free review. The synopsis however might spoil you if you haven’t read the first two books in the series.

dimimy

 Book Title: Did I Mention I Miss You.

 Author: Estelle Maskame.

 Series: DIMILY #3

 Page Count: 432 Pages (Kindle ARC Edition)

 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary & Romance.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 and a half stars.

*I received a copy from SourceBooks Fire via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Eden’s on her way back to Santa Monica for the summer, and she hasn’t seen Tyler since the devastating fallout of their forbidden relationship. Eden claims to have moved on—but Tyler wants to rekindle the flame.

He convinces Eden to visit his new home in Portland, Oregon, where he has set up a center for troubled teens. Eden’s proud of what he’s built, but the last time they were together, it nearly destroyed Eden and their family. Then a tragedy draws them together, and Eden must search her heart and decide if Tyler is worth the risk once and for all.


thoughts-2

This final installment in the DIMILY series was the absolute perfect ending to an amazing series. Like the previous books in the series, I really liked Did I Mention I Miss You?  It had just the right combination of drama, romance and swoon worthy moments to keep me glued to my Kindle.

In this third installment we follow Eden and Tyler on yet another adventure, but this time its for the better. Tyler is a changed kid and he really wants to show Eden what he’s been up to since he just up and left. But Eden is skeptical and scared that he’ll end up breaking her heart again, but together they go on this journey and it couldn’t have been more perfect.

The first thing I really loved about this book is the fact that we start of with the 4th of July, the same way we’ve started the previous two books. It kinda brought the whole series and story line full circle for me and it made me nostalgic for the previous two books. I absolutely loved that Maskame incorporated that and paid attention to such a wonderful detail that meant so much to me as a reader. I feel like Maskame’s writing has really matured in this last book and I really, really loved it. The characters were all still the same characters I’ve come to know and love, but they had a more mature undertone to them which was ever so slightly different and appealing.

The story line was appealing, but it wasn’t as adventurous as either book 1 or 2. Sure it brought closure on so many on going things and for that I am super grateful (nothing like unresolved issues to ruin a series) but I felt that it was lacking something. As always the chemistry between Tyler and Eden is smoking and they are definitely one of the cutest literary couples out there in the fictional world.

That’s all I want, everything at once, perfectly intertwined.

I’m still a bit uncertain about how I feel about Eden, in some parts of the story she still managed to work on my nerves, but in other parts she wasn’t that bad. She did undergo some character development, but she will never be my favourite. Tyler on the other hand blossomed into a fantastic character. From book one he has undergone a massive transformation and I am absolutely in love with the person he has become (mind you, I was kinda in love with him from book one). The character development is so genuine and insanely good, kudos to Maskame for creating such a fantastically relatable character. Eden’s dad was a massive jerk as always, so I still despise him. But I’ve grown to love Ella in this book and I’m extremely happy about that.

There’s something different about him, and it’s as though every summer he becomes a more advanced, improved, polished version of his former self. 

In the end I’m glad that everything was clarified, but it was all a bit too rushed for me. I felt like the author needed to spend more time and attention on the ending. It just felt to me that the ending was squished into a limited amount of pages in order for all the loose pieces to be tied up. I wanted the ending to last longer and for things to be explained more in depth. Overall I’m very happy with the way things came together, but I’m sad that this amazing series has come to an end.

likeddisliked Liked:

  • The matured writing.
  • Tyler’s phenomenal character development and growth.
  • The fact that the entire series came full circle.
  • The hot chemistry between Tyler and Eden.
  • The happy ending.

 Disliked: 

  • The ending felt a little bit rushed and forced.
  • I felt like the previous two books had a little bit more adventure and excitement.

like-this

Did I Mention I Love You My Life Next Door

I definitely think that this series is a must read for everyone. Maskame is a very skilled writer and I cannot wait to see what she comes up with next!

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

*Did I Mention I Miss You will be released on 6 December 2016.

One thought on “Did I Mention I Miss You (ARC) | Perfect Conclusion To A Great Series

Leave a Reply

