Mental Illness Awareness Week

Since it is Mental Illness Awareness Week and it is a week that I am very passionate about, I thought I would share some of my favourite books that feature mental illnesses.

 

mental-illnessMental Illness is a big deal and as a reader having suffered from depression a long time ago (it still comes and goes some times, but its loads better) I get really excited when mental illness is spoken about in books! Sure there are still some things that authors have to learn when it comes to mental illness, such as the fact that love can’t just magically heal a person suffering from this, but I think we’ve come a long way.

So these are some of the books I’ve read and enjoyed that feature some form of mental illness.


 Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan.

will-grayson

Mental Illness: Depression.

i think the idea of a ‘mental health day’ is something completely invented by people who have no clue what it’s like to have bad mental health. the idea that your mind can be aired out in twenty-four hours is kind of like saying heart disease can be cured if you eat the right breakfast cereal. mental health days only exist for people who have the luxury of saying ‘i don’t want to deal with things today’ and then can take the whole day off, while the rest of us are stuck fighting the fights we always fight, with no one really caring one way or another, unless we choose to bring a gun to school or ruin the morning announcements with a suicide.


 Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

fangirl

Mental Illness: Anxiety.

In new situations, all the trickiest rules are the ones nobody bothers to explain to you. (And the ones you can’t Google).


 The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B by Teresa Toten.

unlikely-hero

Mental Illness: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder.

There were thirteen steps per floor; it was nice that they were odd numbers.


 Scarred by Julia Hoban.

scarred

Mental Illness: Depression and Self-Harm.

It’s hard to keep a secret when it’s written all over your body…


 Believarexic by J.J. Johnson.

believarexic

Mental Illness: Eating Disorders.

I was a sleepy, fat, disgusting mess.
Correction:
I was a sleepy, healthy-ish, very human mess.


 All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.

All The Bright Places

Mental Illness: Bi-Polar Disorder and Depression.

It’s my experience that people are a lot more sympathetic if they can see you hurting, and for the millionth time in my life I wish for measles or smallpox or some other easily understood disease just to make it easier on me and also on them.


 The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

perks-of-being-a-wallflower

Mental Illness: Depression and Anxiety.

I don’t know if you’ve ever felt like that. That you wanted to sleep for a thousand years. Or just not exist. Or just not be aware that you do exist. Or something like that. I think wanting that is very morbid, but I want it when I get like this. That’s why I’m trying not to think. I just want it all to stop spinning.


 The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkins.

unbecoming-of-mara-dyer

Mental Illness: PTSD.

You’re stronger than you believe. Don’t let your fear own you, own yourself. 


Those were some of my favourite books featuring mental illnesses. Remember if you suffering from a mental illness you are not alone and there are tons of helplines out there that can help you 

If you have any recommendations for great books featuring mental illness that I’ve not mentioned above, please leave them for me in the comments section!

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

17 thoughts on “Mental Illness Awareness Week

  1. I love recommendations of books about mental illness from people who live with mental illness. I live with Bipolar Disorder and anxiety, but I don’t find a lot of books that deal in a positive and healthy way with mental illness. I find that often they tend to spread stigma more than dispel it (in the books I’ve read, anyway), but these books look excellent, and I’m adding them all to my TBR list.

    Thank you for sharing your favorites!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow, thanks so much! I know a little bit about bi-polar, but I’m no expert. But I do believe that All The Bright Places does a great job with it 😊 I do hope you end up enjoying the other books as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post. I loved Will Grayson, Will Grayson and Fangirl had aspects I could relate to. The Unlikely hero of 13b looks interesting, I’ve never read a book about OCD before. I’ve added that to my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great list! I keeping seeing the unbecoming of Mara Dyer but I have yet to try it out yet. I’ve read Fangirl and I have also read Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella which is a book about anxiety. I enjoyed them, I have anxiety myself so it’s very interesting to see how it is depicted 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

