Bookish Tag | Netgalley Book Tag

I spotted this tag on the wonderful Donna’s blog – Chocolate n Waffles Blog. Check out her blog for loads of book reviews and waffles, plus she’s supper friendly! It was created by Kourtni over at Kourtni Reads.

netgalley

I have a love hate relationship with Netgalley – I love getting new books for review, but I’ve been battling for forever to get my feedback ratio over 80%. Let’s get into the questions!


 Auto-Approved – Who’s one author whose books you automatically want to read, regardless of what they’re about?

patrick-ness

I’m gonna have to go with Patrick Ness, every book I’ve read by him has been magnificent, so I’m pretty sure anything else he writes will be equally as good. I’m secretly hoping that he has something in the pipeline…


 Request – What makes you want to request a book that you see on NetGalley?

I first look at covers (I’m a total cover lover) and if I think that the cover is good looking, I’ll go and read the blurb. If that interests me I’m definitely hitting that request button.

Alternatively I browse some books from publishers that I know always have good titles and I end up requesting most of them.


 Feedback Ratio – Do you review every book you read? If not, how do you decide what books to review?

I try to review every book that I receive from Netgalley, if I didn’t like it and I end up DNFing it I’ll let the publisher know that unfortunately the book just wasn’t for me. Sometimes covers and blurbs can be deceiving and it happens occasionally that I don’t actually finish a book – I feel very bad about this, by the way.


 Badges – If you could create your own badge to display on your blog, what would it be for?

proud-bookworm

Proud Bookworm badge, so everyone can see that you’re a bookworm and not ashamed about it 😛


 Wish For It – What’s one book that you are absolutely dying to read?

 It is seriously impossible for any bookworm to choose just one book they are dying to read, I mean my TBR at this moment is so big it could quite possibly cause my death if it came tumbling down.

the-sun-is-also-a-star

But one ARC I was recently approved for and which I am excited to read is The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon, she is also the author of Everything, Everything. 


 2016 NetGalley Challenge – What was the last book that you received as an ARC that you reviewed? If you’ve never received an ARC, what’s the last book you reviewed?

The last ARC I received and reviewed was Unnatural Deeds by Cyn Balog. It was labelled as a mystery/thriller, but sadly it only scored 🌟🌟 and a half stars from me.


I’m Tagging:

Jill from Rant and Rave About Books

Bex from Bex n Bookx

The Bibliotheque

The Maniacal Book Unicorn

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

 

6 thoughts on “Bookish Tag | Netgalley Book Tag

  1. I’m glad you decided to do this tag, it’s a fun one 🙂 Thanks for the mention 😘
    I have the same struggle, I love requesting books that sound great but my poor ratio suffers from him and now I’m sure I’ll never get to the 80%! I went on a request spree in August and was approved for 3/4 of the books, so now I have plenty of work, haha!
    I haven’t read anything from Ness yet, I feel I’ve heard so many good things about his stories that I don’t want to read and be disappointed, if that makes any sense.
    NetGalley is definitely the place for cover choices as we have to click to get the blurbs. I know I won’t check every book in every category!
    I feel terrible when I don’t enjoy a book I requested. I do my best to write a review, even if I only give it 2 stars, but I had to DNF one and sent a small message to the publisher. I felt awful after!
    I love your badge 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aaaw thank you 😊 This was definitely such a fun tag to do! Don’t worry, I go on frequent requesting binges and afterwards when everything gets approved I’m always like: What have I done?? I’m never going to finish all these before their deadlines 🙈🙈
      I understand, but I just really love his works, The Chaos Walking Trilogy more than his standalone novels 😊

      Like

  2. So far, I’ve not come across the issue of wanting to DNF a book I was given by a publisher (thank god) but I know it’ll happen eventually and I’m dreading it! I know that I’m going to feel really bad about it whenever it happens. I would assume (and hope) publishers know that not every book is for every person, though. 🙂
    Thanks for participating in the tag!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

