One Was Lost (ARC) | Another Non-Mystery

*This is a spoiler-free review.

One Was Lost

 Book Title: One Was Lost.

 Author: Natalie D. Richards.

 Series: Standalone.

 Page Count: 320 Pages (Kindle ARC Edition).

 Genres: Young Adult, Mystery & Thriller.

 Rating: 🌟🌟 and a half stars.

* I received a copy from Sourcebooks Fire via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Murder, justice, and revenge were so not a part of the plan when Sera set out on her senior camping trip. After all, hiking through the woods is supposed to be safe and uneventful.

Then one morning the group wakes up groggy, confused, and with words scrawled on their wrists: Damaged. Deceptive. Dangerous. Darling. Their supplies? Destroyed. Half their group? Gone. Their chaperone? Unconscious. Worst of all, they find four dolls acting out a murder—dolls dressed just like them.

Suddenly it’s clear; they’re being hunted. And with the only positive word on her wrist, Sera falls under suspicion…


thoughts-2

I honestly do not know why I keep on doing this to myself *sigh*. Time and time again I pick up yet another YA book labelled as being a “mystery/thriller” but more often than not it turns out to not even be remotely hair-rising and I can usually figure out the mystery way before it is revealed to us. It is sad to say that One Was Lost was no different. Predictable, far-fetched and a little bit too paranoid, this book didn’t bring anything new or exciting to the table.

Okay, so I’m going to try and keep my ranting to a minimum, but I promise nothing. Sera and five other people from her high school together with two teachers goes on a hiking trip through the forest only to get separated from half their group in the early stages of the book. This immediately creates and atmosphere of doom and things just get worst from there. This did create an atmosphere of doom, but nothing that really had me shaking in my boots. I wanted this book to be the ultimate thrilling survival story, but it definitely fell flat in execution and plot. 

I really didn’t find the plot that interesting and I found it quite predictable, a little boring and a little far fetched with loads of things not adding up or making complete sense. From the start the mystery fell flat for me. After waking up to finding all their supplies either destroyed or missing, Sera and the rest immediately start suspecting each other and the other people from the separated group. They literally suspect everyone except the actual person, pointing a thousand fingers at the suspect, making it really easy to figure it out.

There was no concrete plot, really, and the reason for why this person went psycho was not explored as deeply as it needed to be for it to be plausible. The characters weren’t really intriguing or interesting and even though we got glimpses into their home life it was also never really talked about, making character growth or development almost non-existent. Some of the things that happened to them was almost laughable and I didn’t really think that while in the woods, in a life or death situation, was the best place to strike up a forgotten romance. I didn’t buy it and it didn’t feel real. 

Overall the writing wasn’t bad and the plot could be executed better if the author didn’t try and throw in every single thing that could possibly go wrong, this didn’t make the book more interesting to me, but instead made it less believable.

likeddisliked Liked:

  •  Overall the writing wasn’t too bad.
  • I thought the setting of the plot was great, but the lack in execution made it uninteresting.

 Disliked:

  • The characters felt bland and underdeveloped.
  • The reason for why the plot went the way it didn’t was never explored in depth.
  • Some of the things that happened were laughable and not believable, making it hard for me to fully enjoy the book.
  • I didn’t think that the romance was totally fitting in the situation they were in – sure you might think you’re going to die, but I don’t know. It didn’t feel completely realistic.
  • I thought the plot could be executed much better.

like-thisThe Outliers

If you’re looking for a survival story with little mystery and almost no thrill than you’ll enjoy One Was Lost. If you’re like me and you absolutely adore good mystery and thrillers then I would steer well clear of this one.

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

*One Was Lost will be available from 4 October 2016.

3 thoughts on “One Was Lost (ARC) | Another Non-Mystery

    1. It’s okay, I seem to be on the non-popular end when it comes to my opinions because t received some good reviews on Goodreads 🙈 I think it’s because it’s teenagers, some of the things they are able to do are almost unbelievable. But I think when I read an adult thriller some things just automatically become more believable. And I also think the author plays a big role in creating a good mystery/thriller 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

