Labyrinth Lost (ARC) | A Magical Wonderland

*This is a spoiler-free review.

Labyrinth Lost

 Book Title: Labyrinth Lost.

 Author: Zoraida Córdova.

 Series: Brooklyn Brujas #1.

 Page Count: 336 Pages (Kindle Edition).

 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟 stars.

*I received a copy from Sourcebooks Fire via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange markings on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…


thoughts-2

Labyrinth Lost transported me to a Wonderland reminiscent of Alice’s, just with loads of added magic, witches and an infusion of Latin/American culture. I loved the mix of all these elements, but to be honest I was expecting loads more from this book, I did enjoy it, but it didn’t blow me away.

Alex is a bruja (or a witch) with amazing witching powers (she’s basically a super witch) but she doesn’t want these powers because she believes that magic has only brought bad things to her family. So on the day of her deathday celebration she decides to give her magic back and it goes horribly wrong and her family gets transported to Los Lagos or as I liked to refer to it – Magic Wonderland.

Look twice, my child, for shadows change and so do faces. 

I liked the idea of this magical wonderland where you didn’t know what to expect, it was magical and definitely intriguing. It had loads of fantastic creatures – both good and bad, that definitely made you want to wander deeper into Los Lagos’s secrets. But the story itself became a little confusing to me, I didn’t really get the whole story of why the evil character was evil and I didn’t completely understand how they managed to escape Los Lagos in the end. This confusion made it a little bit harder for me to completely grasp the concept and enjoy it fully.

Alex was yet another eccentric character that liked to keep to herself and only had one close friend (think Blue from Raven Boys or Luna Lovegood from Harry Potter). I quite liked Alex as the main character and the fact that she was just your average teenager with a couple of magical powers made her that much more relatable. The other characters weren’t as centered as Alex but some of them did play somewhat of a crucial role in the story.

Nova, the brujo boy that helps Alex plays a crucial role in the story, but I’m not sure how I felt about him. He didn’t really make that much of an impression on me and neither did Rishi (Alex’s best friend) except for the fact that I was all for them being love interests. Yes, you read right – Alex and Rishi totally made googly eyes at each other and I loved it because we need more F/F relationships in YA books. But what makes it even better is that Alex appears to be bisexual which is as rare as a unicorn in YA these days and I absolutely love unicorns.

I really just wanted a bit more – more from the plot, the writing, the overall story and the romance. I’m unsure whether I would read the second installment in this series, maybe if I knew that it would give me some answers, I might consider it.

likeddisliked Liked:

  • Bisexual main character.
  • Alice in Wonderland setting.
  • Witches and magic in modern day Brooklyn.

 Disliked:

  •  I experienced some confusion when it came to certain parts of the plot.
  • The supporting characters weren’t anything to get excited about.
  • I just wanted more, more of everything basically.

like-this15743650

If you’re interested in modern day magic, fantasy and a roller coaster adventure then I think you’ll definitely enjoy Labyrinth Lost more than I did.

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

2 thoughts on “Labyrinth Lost (ARC) | A Magical Wonderland

Leave a Reply

