The Raven Boys | Something Entirely Different

*This is a spoiler-free review.

15743650

 Book Title: The Raven Boys.

 Author: Maggie Stiefvater.

 Series: The Raven Cycle #1.

 Page Count: 454 Pages (Paperback).

 Genres: Paranormal Fantasy, Young Adult and Magic.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 stars.

Even if Blue hadn’t been told her true love would die if she kissed him, she would stay away from boys. Especially the ones from the local private school. Known as Raven Boys, they only mean trouble.

But this is the year that everything will change for Blue.

This is the year that she will be drawn into the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys. And the year Blue will discover that magic does exist.

This is the year she will fall in love.


thoughts-2

I am so incredibly happy that I read this book and that I enjoyed it as much as I did. Stiefvater definitely wrote a winning, heart-warming series and I can’t wait to read the rest of the books.

This book really is like nothing else I’ve ever read before – the characters and the plot are both so unique and new, I’m seriously in love with the plot and it’s uniqueness. The concept of magic and ley-lines paired with Stiefvater’s lyrical writing made for an amazing and enjoyable reading experience. Since everything was new to me as a reader I found it extremely interesting and it definitely kept me glued to the edge of my seat and I seriously want to know what’s going to happen.

It didn’t escape Blue that his slightly accented voice was as nice as his looks. It was all Henrietta sunset: hot front-porch swings and cold iced-tea glasses, cicadas louder than your thoughts.

This book was very much both plot and character driven and I believe that without the eccentric mix of characters The Raven Boys just wouldn’t be the same. The characters, in my opinion, are what truly make this book so great and relatable. I also really liked that most of the relationships between these characters were friendly in nature and not yet romantic, although I have to admit I can’t wait for it to get a little bit steamy.

Blue – I’m not entirely sure how I feel about Blue just yet, she’s an eccentric character and I always like those. I think she’s a good friend to the boys and definitely an assets when it comes to anything magic or energy wise. I look forward to getting to know her better in the second book.

Gansey  Oh I did like Gansey. He has that hidden side that I want to explore, I want to find out who the true Gansey is so badly. I think he has a very soft heart that and I loved him as a character. He keeps the story interesting and without him we probably wouldn’t be as invested in the ley-lines.

My words are unerring tools of
destruction, and I’ve come unequipped with the ability to disarm them.

Adam – I’m in two minds about Adam. On the one hand I really feel for him and his home circumstances as well as the fact that he had to work so hard to fit in and improve himself. Then on the other hand I felt that he was a bit selfish in some of his actions.

Ronan – Ronan is by far my favourite one of the boys. He’s just so dark and mysterious, with a dark and mysterious secret. I just want to wrap him and my arms and stay with him forever. Seriously Ronan is my type of character and I just want more and more from him.

Gansey had once told Adam that he was afraid most people didn’t know how to handle Ronan. What he meant by this was that he was worried that one day someone would fall on Ronan and cut themselves.

I’m totally excited to read the second book in the series and I hope to learn more about the ley-lines and all the great characters.

likeddisliked Liked:

  • The writing was totally amazing and really got me interested in the story.
  •  I loved the entire concept of magic and the ley-lines and I definitely can’t wait to discover more.
  • The characters are totally unique and each and every one of them bring something totally different to the story.
  •  It really is a good first book to a hopefully amazing series.

 Disliked:

  • There is something that I couldn’t quite pin point that made me not give it the full five stars.

like-thisAva Lavender

If you’re looking for something totally unique with loads of paranormal fantasy elements and great characters then you’ll definitely enjoy The Raven Boys. 

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

8 thoughts on “The Raven Boys | Something Entirely Different

Leave a Reply

