I Finally Ventured Into The Shadowhunter World | City Of Bones

*This is a spoiler-free review.

City of Bones

 Book Title: City of Bones.

 Author: Cassandra Clare.

 Series: The Mortal Instruments #1.

 Page Count: 506 Pages (Paperback).

 Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal Fantasy & Romance.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 stars.

*I was provided with a copy by Pan Macmillan SA in exchange for an honest review.

Clary Fray is seeing things: vampires in Brooklyn and werewolves in Manhattan. Irresistibly drawn to the Shadowhunters, a secret cadre of warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, Clary encounters the dark side of New York City – and the dangers of forbidden love.


thoughts-2

This series is probably one of the most hyped series out there and it is outside my normal preferred genre, but if I’m completely honest I really enjoyed it and I’m looking forward to reading the entire Shadowhunter Chronicles. 

This book wasn’t perfect and it surely had its faults, but I really loved the plot and Paranormal Fantasy elements. The writing felt almost familiar so it was easy for me to immediately get immersed into the story and its characters. The plot had some elements that I’ve seen in other books, but for the most part it was totally unique and captivating. It was definitely packed to the brim with action and fight scenes that kept the adrenaline flowing.  I was especially intrigued by the runes and their uses and meanings. I was also very intrigued by all the different “species” involved in this book.

I didn’t really like Cary, I felt that she was uninteresting and a little bit whiny – a little bit too whiny. I didn’t connect with her character and I felt that she wasn’t really interesting or worth being the main character. She just seemed too ordinary for someone who has Shadowhunter roots.

The boy never cried again, and he never forgot what he’d learned: that to love is to destroy, and that to be loved is to be the one destroyed.

Jace I really loved at the beginning. He is charming and quick witted and just overall good looking. He’s one of those “broken” characters that you just want to take under your wing and make him feel loved again. I think Alec’s character has real potential for growth and I have a feeling I’ll end up liking him more as the series progresses. I really loved Luke as well – tons of great characters are featured in this book and I can’t wait to see how they develop and grow as the series goes on.

I thought I would end up not liking this book, but I am slowly but surely becoming a fantasy fanatic and I really liked this first installment in which is hopefully a very entertaining series.

likeddisliked

 Liked:

  •  It was action packed with tons of things happening in each chapter.
  • All the characters were intriguing and interesting and there was a wide variety of characters for you to fall in love with.
  • I loved the “newness” of the plot and the story.

 Disliked:

  • I didn’t like Cary, I don’t feel like she was a worthy main character.
  • Some of the plot twists I could see coming before they happened.

like-thisDemon Road

If you love fantasy books with loads of paranormal elements (think demons, vampires and werewolves) then I think you’ll love City of Bones.

michelle-2

 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

10 thoughts on “I Finally Ventured Into The Shadowhunter World | City Of Bones

  1. There’s so much in this fictional world to read about – the Mortal Instruments series itself, a prequel series, a whole collection of short stories/novellas about Magnus, a series of short stories/novellas about the Shadowhunter Academy, and now a sequel series – you’ll not be short for material! Haha. Welcome to the fandom.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

