Bookish Movies | Books Becoming Movies

bookish-movies

A list of books becoming movies in the near future 🎥

All the more books are becoming movies, so I thought I’d share some of the adaptations I’m most excited for and also to make sure you read the book before it becomes a movie.


💜 All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.

All The Bright Places

All The Bright Places was such an emotional read, I’m hoping that the book will be along the lines of TFIOS and The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Expected Release Date: 2017 | Starring: Elle Fanning


💜 The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins.

Girl on the Train

I was never able to finish The Girl On The Train, maybe I’ll just skip reading this one and watch the movie instead.

Expected Release Date: 7 October 2016 | Starring: Emily Blunt


💜 Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by Newt Scamander.

Fantastic Beasts

This is possibly my most anticipated movie of the year. I’m definitly going to buy tickets before hand to go see it on opening night.

Expected Release Date: 18 November 2016 | Starring: Eddie Redmayne & Ezra Miller


💜 Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell.

Eleanor & Park

According to Rowell’s website this movie still has the go ahead and she has actually written a screenplay, but no one knows when it will be released, giving me loads of time to still read it.

Expected Release Date: Unknown | Starring: No cast has been announced yet


💜 Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs.

Peculiar Children

I’m so excited to actually go see this movie because it’s being directed by Tim Burton and I absolutely love his movies, now I just have to decide if I actually want to read the books.

Expected Release Date: 30 September 2016 | Starring: Eva Green


💜 A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness.

A Monster Calls

I liked this book, but it didn’t really evoke any emotion in me so I’m hoping that the movie will capture this a bit better.

Expected Release Date: 21 October 2016 | Starring: Liam Neeson


💜 Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.

Ready Player One

I’ve only heard good things about this book, so I’m hoping that the book will be equally as good.

Expected Release Date: 30 March 2018 | Starring: Simon Pegg


💜 Me Before You by JoJo Moyes.

Me Before You

I know that this movie has technically been released already, but I really loved it, so I would advise you to read the book and then watch the movie. Just remember to bring loads of tissues.

Release Date: 3 June 2016 | Starring: Sam Claflin & Emilia Clarke


There are some other movies that are still in the pre-production stages with very little information available. This includes Looking for Alaska by John Green, Red Rising by Pierce Brown, Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard and the most exciting – Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness, you can read all about it here.

michelle-3

What book to movie adaptation are you most excited for? 

I’m definitely most excited for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. 

9 thoughts on “Bookish Movies | Books Becoming Movies

  1. I have only read Me Before You, and I expect the movie to stir up emotions in me that the book failed to spark. Ready Player One is on my TBR, I’ll make sure to remember there’s a movie coming. I’ve decided not to read The Girl On The Train after reading so many mixed reviews about it. I’ll just go with the adaptation 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I tried reaading The Girl on the Train and it was a no go after the first few chapters. So I’m really excited to see if the movie will be thriling. Ready Player One is also on my TBR 😊 As for Me Before You, I really enjoyed the movie. They did leave out some things (as per usual) but I still really loved it.

      Like

  2. I can’t wait for All the Bright Places because Elle Fanning 😍😍 do we know the guy who’s gonna play Finch yet?? I’m also excited for Miss Peregrine because I have yet to read it but if the movie is directed by Tim Burton, I’ll definitely just watch it. And I didn’t know that Looking for Alaska was to be made into movie! It’s only my favorite John Green’s book of ever! I wondered why they made Paper Towns movie instead of it. Great post 😀😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊 I’m super excited for All The Bright Places, it’s one of my favourite books of all time. The male lead is unconfirmed at the moment, but I just hope it’s someone good! I’m totally excited for Miss Peregrine’s too, but I first have to read the books 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

