The Assassin Game | Yet Another Disappointing YA Thriller

31315482

 Book Title: The Assassin Game/Killer Game.

 Author: Kirsty McKay.

 Series: Standalone.

 Page Count: 336 Pages (Kindle Edition).

 Genres: Young Adult, Mystery & Thriller.

 Rating: 🌟🌟 and a half stars.

*I would like to thank Sourcebooks Fire that provided me with a copy via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

It is 4 a.m. when they come for me. I am already awake, strung out on the fear that they will come, and fear that they won’t. When I finally hear the click of the latch on the dormitory door, I have only a second to brace myself before…

At Cate’s isolated boarding school Killer is more than a game-it’s an elite secret society. Members must avoid being “killed” during a series of thrilling pranks-and only the Game Master knows who the “killer” is. When Cate’s finally invited to join The Guild of Assassins, she knows it’s her ticket to finally feeling like she belongs.

But when the game becomes all too real, the school threatens to shut it down. Cate will do anything to keep playing and save The Guild. But can she find the real assassin-before she’s the next target?


thoughts-2

Unfortunately The Assassin Game was yet another YA thriller/mystery that did not live up to its expectations. It was one of those thriller/mysteries that lured you in with its intriguing synopsis, but failed you on the execution and overall plot.

I was really excited about the plot, I mean an exclusive game that only a certain group of people are a part of with a school set on a remote island, the perfect scenario for a great mystery/thriller novel. But is just fell flat, the execution was bland and the plot was unexciting. I was kept guessing a little bit, but the few things I didn’t manage to figure out before hand weren’t revolutionary when they were eventually revealed.

As for the main character she was average. She didn’t have a spunky personality or anything remotely exciting about her. Her narration was bland and boring at the best of times and her train of thought wasn’t particularly enlightening. The romance aspects were also overused – there was the classic jealous guy seeking revenge & then the clichéd love-triangle (only it was badly executed, even worse than the Twilight love triangle).

I just felt that the plot had so much potential that wasn’t used. I mean the school is set on an island, this should’ve come into play at one time or another. I also think that the “kills” could’ve been executed in a more thrilling or creepy manner that would’ve made me wary about reading it at night, but it didn’t. I really wanted to love this especially because I’m such a thriller/mystery fanatic.

likeddisliked

 Liked:

  • I really the premise of the story, I loved the location of it.
  • The writing wasn’t that bad.

 Disliked:

  • The plot wasn’t executed as well as it could have been.
  • The main character wasn’t interesting.
  • I wanted it to be more thrilling.

like-this

 

Sanctuary Bay

You’ll enjoy this book if you’re not that into thriller/mysteries, but just looking for a book with a mystery aspect. If you’re a fanatic like me you won’t really find it that enjoyable.

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

5 thoughts on “The Assassin Game | Yet Another Disappointing YA Thriller

Leave a Reply

