Cursed Child | Review, Thoughts & Discussion

*This review will contain no spoilers! There will be spoilery thoughts & a discussion at the very, very end, but you will be warned. 

29058155

 Book Title: Harry Potter and The Cursed Child.

 Authors: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne.

 Series: Harry Potter #8.

 Page Count: 330 Pages (Hardback).

 Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult & Script.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 stars.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.


thoughts-2

Let’s start of by saying that it was absolutely amazing returning to the wizarding world – Hogwarts, The Ministry for Magic and the Hogwarts Express all making a comeback. I’m sure as everyone knows by now that this book is written in script format, which makes for a fast and easy reading experience; once you get used to the format.

As for the actually writing and storyline it is safe to say that you soon realise that Rowling did not have the lead say as to writing or plot. The writing simply doesn’t have the richness as the previous seven books, whether this was caused by the lack of input or the format it was presented in, remains to be unknown. The plot does feature some overused tropes (that I don’t think Rowling would’ve necessarily used). As for addressing the rumours that it reads like fanfiction I can unfortunately not comment on this, having never read Harry Potter fanfiction myself.

Some elements and part of the plot got lost in translation because the writing wasn’t descriptive. I had a hard time imagining what exactly was suppose to be happening, but I think that would be sorted out when you got to see the actual play. It just made it hard to imagine specifics and get involved in the plot.

The saving grace was the characters. I loved all the old characters that made a reappearance and I was intrigued by the new characters especially Albus Severus Potter. I really loved seeing how all the characters had grown up and how far they’ve come as well as how relationships were maintained.

Is this the perfect Harry Potter book? Certainly not, but to me it was still quite enjoyable. It wasn’t perfect and I certainly missed J.K’s wit and humour, but a part of me is really happy that we could experience this.

likeddisliked Liked:

  • It was great reading about my favourite characters again.
  •  Great “meeting” new characters and growing with them.
  •  I loved that we got to return to Hogwarts.

 Disliked:

  •  It was definitely apparent that J.K. Rowling was absent.
  • Overused tropes that wasn’t surprising, but rather just sad.

spoilers

 

I found it really ironic that Albus was sorted into Slytherin and that he became best friends with Scorpius Malfoy, the son of Harry’s nemesis Draco Malfoy. I desperately wanted there to be a Simon & Baz vibe between Albus and Scorpius, but I’d be happy with a Scorpius/Rose relationship too.

A few things broke my heart, one of them definitely being when Snape returns alive and well. I did not expect this and I loved that they portrayed him as a gentle loving character. Then something else was Draco. He suffered so much, his wife dying, the rumours about Scorpius and the fact that he admitted that he was always jealous of the golden trio. I would love to read more about this sensitive Draco.

I appreciated that they showed Harry being a little bit vulnerable, especially when it came to parenting Albus. I loved the fact that Ron was still the same old Ron and that he loved Hermione even more than he did at Hogwarts.

I really didn’t like the whole Voldemort has an heir thing, it’s a trope that has been used over and over again without much success. I also didn’t like the whole “alternative universe” thing. This is mostly were I felt that Rowling didn’t have that much to do with the plot and it was just weird.

*P.S. I feel so good getting this all off my chest.

Have you read it yet? What did you think? Do you agree or completely disagree with what I said? Let me know in the comments (:

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

11 thoughts on “Cursed Child | Review, Thoughts & Discussion

  1. I love this review! I agree with everything, all of it, especially the [SPOILERS] heir trope that just seemed too much to be wish fulfillment for the fans. And, I totally agree that JK Rowling’s touch was missing 😦 I really loved the book like you did, but I feel like Harry’s voice was lacking and I think that’s because Rowling wasn’t as much of a figurehead as she is for Fantastic Beasts and the other HP books. I loved your input, great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much 😊 I’m glad you agree with me & I was really sceptical from the start because it wasn’t just Rowling writing it. But in the end I’m glad we got this story, faults and all 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great Review, I’ve never read Harry Potter Fanfiction but I have read other fanfiction and I don’t think it reads like a fanfic at all. For me I agree with the lack of description but I put it down to the fact its a play so you sort of get the limited world building in the stage directions and if not in your own imagination, I posted my review today if you were interested in checking it out https://mortalreader.wordpress.com/2016/08/06/harry-potter-and-the-cursed-child-spoiler-free-review/ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

