A Mathematical Pleasure | The Square Root of Summer

*This is a spoiler-free review.

Square Root of Summer

 Book Title: The Square Root of Summer.

 Author: Hariet Reuter Hapgood.

 Series: Standalone.

 Page Count: 323 Pages (Paperback).

 Genres: Young Adult, Romance & Contemporary.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 stars.

* I would like to give a big thanks to Pan Macmillan SA who provided me with a copy for an honest review.

When the fabric of the universe surrounding Gottie’s sleepy seaside town begins to fray, she is hurtled through wormholes to her past. To last summer, when her grandfather, Grey, died. 

To the afternoon she fell in love with Jason, who wouldn’t even hold her hand at Grey’s funeral. To the day her childhood best friend, Thomas, moved away, leaving her with a scar on her hand and a gap in her memory.

This summer, although Grey is still gone, Jason and Thomas are back, and Gottie’s past, present and future are about to collide – and be changed forever.


thoughts-2

The Square Root of Summer is definitely different from your average YA Contemporary novel. It brings a unique twist with its mathematical equations and spunky main character. The Square Root of Summer is about Grottie losing herself after Grey’s death, but also about trying to find herself – maybe not in all the right places.

But perhaps it’s that Grey is dead. It still feels like the moon fell out of the sky.

I found the story to be really unique & different because of the of the unlikely mathematical occurrences, although the maths brought something unique to the story, it made my head hurt & sometimes I didn’t really care for it. I know without all the black holes and wormholes and all kinds of other holes, the story wouldn’t have been the same, but I still think that it was a little bit too much at certain points. Most of the maths I also didn’t really understand which made me feel left out at times. You don’t necessarily have to understand the maths to understand the story, but it will help and you won’t feel so left out.

The writing was totally beautiful and interesting with loads and loads of quotes that stood out to me and that I’ve written down to keep with me for a very long time. Hapgood’s writing is totally relate able and she sure knows how to keep a reader entertained.

And as he looks at me, I suddenly get it. This isn’t the Big Bang. It’s just summer. But it’s still love. It’s still something.

The characters were all pretty unique and brought their own special touch to the story, but Gottie & Thomas were definitely my favourites. Gottie was just such a quirky, spunky & unique character, but she also had an adventurous soul & I liked Thomas because he bakes (and all his bakes sounded totally delicious) and he just seemed totally adorable in his glasses and cardigan. Plus he is really good for Gottie.

likeddisliked Liked:

  •  Interesting and unique story line.
  • Nothing like this has been done in YA before.
  •  Relatable and fun characters.

 Disliked:

  •  The maths was sometimes too hard and made me feel confused and left out.

like-thisDid I Mention I Love You

Despite all the negatives about the mathematics The Square Root of Summer was still a very enjoyable read. It teaches us about death and romance all in one. I think this is the perfect summer read to take to the beach.

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

 

12 thoughts on “A Mathematical Pleasure | The Square Root of Summer

  1. I have this book on my to-read list, I’m actually hoping to start it tomorrow, and I am even more excited to start reading it now I’ve read your review!
    I’m not too sure how I’ll find the maths aspect, it’s not my strong point understanding maths, but I may just end up skimming over those parts or something. Either way it sounds like it’s a brilliant story with brilliant characters so that is definitely a plus 😀
    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard so much about this book and it sounds similar to a book I read in the adult/general fiction called Relativity by Antonia Hayes. That wasn’t so much a love story as it was a family story involving physics.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve seen this book around and I’ve been thinking about picking it up but it has some mixed reviews, glad to see you liked it, it sounds so different from the usual summer contemporary and I like the idea of the Math but I can see how it could be a bit overwhelming depending on how its done 🙂
    Fantastic review x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

