Dangerous Girls | Queue Mind-Blow

Dangerous Girls

 Book Title: Dangerous Girls.

 Author: Abigail Haas.

 Series: Standalone.

 Page Count: 388 Pages (Kindle Edition).

 Genres: Young Adult Contemporary, Mystery & Crime.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 and a half stars.

It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives. But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations.

As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer; she discovers hard truths about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love.

As she awaits the judge’s decree, it becomes clear that everyone around her thinks she is not just guilty, but dangerous. When the truth comes out, it is more shocking than one could ever imagine…


thoughts-2

I love thriller and mystery novels, in fact it is one of my absolute favourite genres, but when it comes to the YA equivalent of this genre I tend to steer well clear. Young Adult thrillers just simply never live up to my expectations, but Dangerous Girls is a whole different story, you can prepare to have your mind blown. 

This plot is totally what all mystery plots need to be made of, it keeps you guessing right up until the end and even when we get to the end, you still question everything that happened. This book was really, really well written, I mean at one stage I had so many scenarios of who-dunnit in my head and in the end – I was still wrong! Now that is what I call a perfect mystery plot. 

We sit in the visitors’ room, with the scratched Plexiglass partition between us, speaking through handsets like a sad, twisted version of kids playing telephone.

What I also really loved was the way it was written, where we start with the present day situation and then jump to past events and occurrences. It was done really well and I never felt confused, it really added more depth to the whole story. It was like the further I dug into the plot, the more exciting things I discovered. I loved the court case and how it almost felt like I was watching a crime series (which I love, by the way). The little bit of idyllic island that I got to experience also didn’t hurt.

The group of characters were a real authentic group that you could probably find in every high school, in other words they were real and definitely relate able. The relationship between Anna & Elise was your typical best friend relationship, accept for the fact that I felt that Elise was a little bit obsessed with Anna, but that just made the story and characters that much more interesting. Anna was an incredible main character and narrator, I liked her character very much.

She swings our hands back and forth, like kids on a playground, but her next words are sobering.

I literally cannot get over the cleverness and execution of this incredible plot. The way everything just tied up in the end, it honestly did blow my mind.

likeddisliked Liked:

  •  This is a true mystery novel, through and through.
  • I could not for the life of me guess who did it.
  • The plot is truly fantastic.
  • Great group of characters.

 Disliked:

  •  Some more clearance in terms of the ending would’ve been great.

like-thisGone Girl

I really think all mystery loversnot just YA readers, will find Dangerous Girls cunning and enjoyable. I really want to read more mysteries from this author.

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

*Have any of you read Dangerous Boys? Is it as good? Will it live up to my expectations?

10 thoughts on “Dangerous Girls | Queue Mind-Blow

  1. I read this book but I missed some reality, there is no real investigation or police involvement and that would have changed the story without doubt. I liked it but didn’t love it. I didn’t continue with dangerous boys but please let us know what you think about that one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have read this book as well as dangerous boys. I liked it but not as much as dangerous girls. I mean the ending wasn’t that thrilling for me. I kind of expected the ending but do give it a go.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Tbh it really isn’t. This book has such great plot and the suspense is amazing. In comparison dangerous boys isn’t that great

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

