More Than This | It Will Leave You SO Confused (But It’s Totally Worth It)

21969786

 Book Title: More Than This.

 Author: Patrick Ness.

 Series: Standalone.

 Page Count: 480 Pages (Paperback).

 Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi & LGBT.

 Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟 and a half stars.

* I received a copy from Pan Macmillan SA in exchange for an honest review.

A boy drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments. He dies.

Then he wakes, naked and bruised and thirsty, but alive.

How can this be? And what is this strange deserted place?

As he struggles to understand what is happening, the boy dares to hope. Might this not be the end? Might there be more to this life, or perhaps this afterlife?


thoughts-2

I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again – Patrick Ness is a fricken genius! Every book I read from him manages to blow me away and More Than This is no exception. This book had me thinking about what actually happened long after I read the final page. This book will have your mind reeling and leave you feeling really confused, but I think in the end, that’s the point. It’s a beautiful disaster that you’re not meant to understand.

More Than This is a very hard book to review because I don’t want to give anything away. I went into this book blind and I think that is the best way for anyone to go into this book.  Don’t read opinions or reviews or thoughts about this if you’ve not read it yet.

This book really does bring the best of everything – it features interesting and well developed characters, great world-building, serious mystery and confusion (that we’ve established is a good thing) and beautiful writing from an amazing author. Patrick Ness seriously can do no wrong, I absolutely loved (almost) everything in this book.

really loved the plot, even if I didn’t know what to believe at most times, it kept me invested both in the book and the characters and it definitely had me on the edge of my seat. I’m still not entirely sure what was real or not, but that is the beauty of it – the unknown. The abrupt ending (that I didn’t necessarily enjoy) just added to the unbelievably of the entire plot.  I did however feel that it was way too much of a cliffhanger ending for a book that is NOT part of a series. I hate this uncertainty of not knowing, but that is obviously the goal of this book.

I felt really invested in all three the main characters. Their stories managed to really touch my heart and I wanted to know what happened to each and every one of them. They were interesting and had amazing backstories that were well developed and unique. The friendship between the 3 was amazing and they definitely bonded making me feel all warm and fuzzy on the inside. As for romantic relationships, I would have like to have seen more focus on the LGBT aspect of this novel. It was present, but I wanted more. It’s something that we don’t often see in books and it’s absolutely great when we do that I want as much of it as possible.

We have to lie to ourselves to live. Otherwise, we’d go crazy.

I really don’t want to risk saying anything more, because this book is really brilliant when anticipation is built and the reader doesn’t see a thing coming.

likeddisliked Liked:

  •  The plot was very different and it kept me on the edge of my seat.
  •  Some diversity in characterization as well as sexual orientation (big thumbs up).
  •  Wonderful, interesting and unique characters.

 Disliked:

  • The ending was a bit cliffhangery and we never really got a real ending.
  •  I would’ve liked more emphasis on the LGBT aspect.

like-this The Rest of Us Nirvana

I would definitely recommend More Than This – Patrick Ness just really knows how to make you escape to a whole different world.

michelle-2 Bookstagram  Goodreads  Twitter

4 thoughts on “More Than This | It Will Leave You SO Confused (But It’s Totally Worth It)

Leave a Reply

